ACCA 2002 Final Voting Open!

It’s that time!  The Awards Circuit Community Awards must now choose their favorite films and performances from 2002.  In case you missed it, Rob Marshall’s “Chicago” and Peter Jackson’s “The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers” led the way with twelve nominations each.  Stephen Daldry’s “The Hours” garnered nine nominations while Spike Jonze’s “Adaptation” captured eight citations.  Martin Scorsese’s “Gangs of New York” failed to nab a Best Picture nomination but still managed nine nominations altogether.  Roman Polanski’s “The Pianist,” though still named a Best Picture nominee, could only muster five nominations from the community.

In record setting news, Leonardo DiCaprio remains the most nominated actor in community history.  With his Lead Actor nomination for “Catch Me If You Can,” he has been nominated six times by our readership.  Right behind him is the great Meryl Streep, with her double nominations for “The Hours” and “Adaptation,” has been cited five times.  I leave the milestones up to our longtime reader, GL to go over the stats when winners are announced.  We always look forward to them.

I will announce the Davis Award Nominees tomorrow!

Vote for your favorites in the 19 categories HERE!  I will announce the winners on next Sunday’s Power Hour with the staff in tow with us moving on to Year 2000 the following week.  Look forward to your winners!

Comment and discuss!  Who or what are you pulling for?