Jodie Foster to Receive Cecil B. Demille Award from HFPA


Two-time Academy Award winner Jodie Foster will be honored by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association with their prestigious Cecil B. Demille Award.  Announced today by Simon Baker and Kristen Stewart,  Foster is the first woman to be awarded with the organization’s highest honor since Barbara Streisand in 2000.  Not only is she being rewarded in a year where women are making their marks, she is the youngest recipient since Charlton Heston in 1967. 

Foster has been nominated for seven Golden Globe awards in her tenure, most recently with co-star Kate Winslet in Roman Polanski’s Carnage last year.  She’s also been nominated for her works in The Brave One (2007), Contact (1997), Nell (1994), The Silence of the Lambs (1991) and The Accused (1988) which she won, and Freaky Friday (1976).

Foster has not only been an outstanding actress but a very capable director most recently executed in The Beaver (2011) starring Mel Gibson and in the 90s with Home for the Holidays (1995) and Little Man Tate (1991).  Foster’s next directorial effort will be “Money Monster,” a film about a TV personality whose insider tips have made him the money guru of Wall Street.  The film is slated for a release in 2013.

Past recipients include Morgan Freeman, Martin Scorsese, and Clint Eastwood.  The Golden Globe Awards will take place on January 13, 2013 and will be hosted by Emmy Winner Tina Fey and Amy Poehler.

Comment and discuss!

  • Well deserved indeed. Very inspirational career, and personality.

  • Mikael

    Why hasn´t Meryl won this yet!? Maybe because she´s nominated for an acting category every year… Anyway, Jodie Foster is an interesting choice… But personally I´d rather see Jane Fonda, Julie Andrews, Vanessa Redgrave or Whoopi Goldberg winning the Cecil B. deMille Award, as of now…

    • moviewatcher

      Meryl hasn’t got this because she’ll keep on getting nominated until she retires!!! No need for a lifetime achievement award just yet.

      • Mark

        That rationale doesn’t make ny sense. Jodie Foster is nowhere near being retired. Meryl should have been an obvious recipient of this award for at least the last decade.