‘Argo’ Wins With The Florida Film Critics Circle


The Florida Film Critics Circle has named Ben Affleck’s Argo the best of the year. The film also won Director and Adapted Screenplay honors. Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) and Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) resume their march to Oscar, while Rian Johnson’s Original Screenplay for Looper continues to do well with critics groups. See the full winners after the jump.

Best Picture

Best Director
Ben Affleck, “Argo”

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Supporting Actor
Philip Seymour Hoffman, “The Master”

Best Supporting Actress
Anne Hathaway, “Les Misérables”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Best Original Screenplay

Best Art Direction/Production Design
“Anna Karenina”

Best Cinematography

Best Visual Effects
“Life of Pi”

Best Animated Film

Best Foreign Language Film
“The Intouchables”

Best Documentary
“The Queen of Versailles”

Pauline Kael Breakout Award
Quvenzhané Wallis, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

ALSO CHECK OUT:   Oscar Circuit - The Calm Before the Storm (No Pun Intended)

About Mark Johnson

Lover of all things film and Oscar. Fantasy sports’ equivalent of George Steinbrenner. Your very own Han Solo, making friends all over the movie-loving galaxy in spite of himself. When he’s not ranking just about everything or dominating boardgames, Mark is breaking down the Oscar race 24/7 with Rain Man-like stats and knowledge. In his downtime, you can find him commiserating with other Northeast Ohio sports fans because a hero isn’t complete without a little heartbreak. If Lost, Homeland, Breaking Bad, Mad Men and Survivor are your style, then congratulations, you have something in common with this inglourious basterd.
  • Michael Herbertson

    Great list from Florida !

  • Some very deserving wins for Argo…