Sundance Film Festival Awards ‘Fruitvale’


Fruitvalemovie2013Grand Jury Prize: Fruitvale
U.S. Doc Grand Jury Prize: 
Blood Brother
U.S. Dramatic Directing Award: 
Afternoon Delight  
U.S. Doc Directing Award: 
Cutie and the Boxer  
U.S. Dramatic Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award
: In a World
Sundance: Screenwriting Award, World Cinema Dramatic: 
Barmak Akram from Afghanistan for ‘Wajma.’
U.S. Dramatic Cinematography Award: 
Bradford Young for Ain’t Them Bodies Saints & Mother of George
US Dramatic Special Jury Acting to Miles Teller & Shailene Woodley for  The Spectacular Now
Audience Winner: 
US Doc Audience Award: 
Blood Brother
Audience Award for Best World Narrative: 
Metro Manila
World Doc Audience Award: 
The Square  
Best of Next: 
This is Martin Bonner
World Doc grand jury prize:
 A River Changes Course
World Doc directing prize: The Machine That Makes Everything Disappear
World Cinema Special Jury Prize (Documentary): Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer
Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize: Computer Chess
World Cinema Dramatic Screenwriting Award: WAJMA (AN AFGHAN LOVE STORY) (Barmak Akram)
World Cinema Dramatic Cinematography Award: LASTING (d.p. Michal Englert) 

Comment and discuss!

Previous articleSUNDANCE: Fruitvale (***)
Next articleProducers Guild of America Chooses ‘Argo’
Clayton Davis--prolific writer and autism awareness advocate of Puerto Rican and Black descent, known for his relentless passion, dedication, and unique aptitude. Over the course of a decade, he has been criticizing both film and television extensively. To date, he has been either featured or quoted in an array of prominent outlets, including but not limited to The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter. Growing up in the Bronx, Clayton’s avid interest in the movie world began the moment he first watched "Dead Poets Society” at just five years of age. While he struggled in English class all throughout grade school, he dived head first into writing, ultimately taking those insufficiencies and transforming them into ardent writings pertaining to all things film, television, and most importantly, the Academy Awards. In addition to crafting a collection of short stories that give a voice to films that haven’t made it to the silver screen, Clayton currently serves as the Founding Editor of He also holds active voting membership at various esteemed organizations, such as the Broadcast Film Critics Association, Broadcast Television Journalists Association, African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, Black Reel Awards, and International Press Academy. Furthermore, Clayton obtained his B.A. degree in American Studies and Communications.