‘Silver Linings Playbook’ nearly sweeps the Independent Spirit Awards!


silver-linings-playbook-posterPotentially previewing tomorrow night’s Oscar ceremony, Silver Linings Playbook had an excellent showing at the Independent Spirit Awards. Winning in all but one of the categories that it was nominated for, there’s clearly some love for David O. Russell’s film. You can take issue with the way the Spirit Awards handles its business (including this year giving Best First Feature to someone who’s already made a film, but I digress), but overall they honored a solid crop of winners. I even did much better than I was expecting with my predictions, going 9 out of 13, though if you include my alternate selections, I managed to get them all. Take a gander at the winners below…

“Silver Linings Playbook”

David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”

“Silver Linings Playbook”

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
“The Perks of Being a Wallflower”

“Safety Not Guaranteed”

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.
“Middle of Nowhere”

Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook”

John Hawkes, “The Sessions”

Michael Haneke at the Spirit Awards
John Hawkes, “The Sessions”

Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”

Matthew McConaughey, “Magic Mike”

“Beasts of the Southern Wild”

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)
“The Invisible War”

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
Adam Leon, “Gimme the Loot”

STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 18th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
Peter Nicks, “The Waiting Room”

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
Director: Sean Baker
Casting Director: Julia Kim
Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

Thoughts? Discuss in the comments!

  • Joey Magidson

    Interesting that in most categories they either went Silver Linings or someone who they felt Oscar snubbed in one way or another…

  • Tom

    Eventhough it wasn’t happening, with him losing the best actor that was tailored made for him, Cooper’s view as a threat has gone out the window I guess

    • Joey Magidson

      Yes and no…the crossover isn’t huge, but Cooper did have a much better chance here than there…

  • JamDenTel

    Can anyone tell me why there isn’t a “The” in the title?

    • Joey Magidson

      I wondered that myself earlier in the season…

      • JamDenTel

        A minor thing, but it bugs me.

        Anyway, the results are solid enough–really glad to see some attention for Safety Not Guaranteed and McConaughey. I’m not the biggest SLP fan, but I don’t object too much to its winning.

        • Joey Magidson

          I’m a bigger fan of SLP than you, but other than that we’re on the same page…

  • Mark

    If Magic Mike was distributed by WB, how did it qualify for the ISA’s?

    • Joey Magidson

      Because they didn’t actually finance it. Soderbergh raised the money I believe and then brought it to Warner just for distribution…