james gandolfini enough saidWhat a day.  Boston Film Critics Society announced their winners for the film year with Steve McQueen‘s 12 Years a Slave emerging victorious in several categories.  The slavery epic won Best Picture, Best Director for McQueen, and Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor.  The film was also Runner-up in Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong’o.

Also showing up strong was Alexander Payne’s Nebraska which DID win Best Supporting Actress for June Squibb and was runner-up in Best Music.  Payne’s film also won the award for Best Ensemble.  Cate Blanchett captured another Best Actress mention for performance in Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine who won in a (supposed) landslide.

Nicole Holofcener‘s Enough Said made an impression with the New England critics.  The film won a surprising Best Screenplay award for writer/director Holofcener along with James Gandolfini winning Best Supporting Actor posthumously.

Disney’s The Wind Rises won Best Animated Feature with The Act of Killing winning Documentary Feature.  Ryan Coogler picked up another award for Best New Filmmaker for Fruitvale Station with Ron Howard’s Rush winning Best Editing.  The Coen Brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis won the award for Best Music and Wadjda won Best Foreign Language Film.

One key notice was Martin Scorsese’s The Wolf of Wall Street missing every award but was runner-up in five categories including Picture, Director, and Lead Actor.  According to Ty Burr, a voting member of BFCS, not enough members were able to see the film which screened for them this past Friday.

Check out the full list of winners down below:

BEST PICTURE – 12 Years a Slave
(RUNNER UP – The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST DIRECTOR – Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave
(RUNNER UP – Martin Scorsese for The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST ACTOR – Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years a Slave
(RUNNER UP – Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST ACTRESS – Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine
(RUNNER UP – Judi Dench for Philomena)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – James Gandolfini for Enough Said
(*TIE* Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips and Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – June Squibb for Nebraska
(Runner Up – Lupita Nyong’o for 12 Years a Slave)

(Runner Up – TBA)

BEST SCREENPLAY – Nicole Holofcener for Enough Said
(Runner Up – Terence Winter for The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST DOCUMENTARY – The Act of Killing
(Runner(s) Up – Blackfish, Leviathan, At Berkeley, Crash Reel, 20 Ft from Stardom)

(Runner Up – Frozen)

BEST NEW FILMMAKER – Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station
(Runner Up – Josh Oppenheimer for The Act of Killing)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY – Emmanuel Lubeski for Gravity
(Runner Up – The Grandmaster)

BEST EDITING – Daniel P. Hanley & Mike Hill for Rush
(Runner Up – The Wolf of Wall Street)

BEST MUSIC – Inside Llewyn Davis
(RUNNER UP – Nebraska)

(RUNNER UP – Blue is the Warmest Color)


Previous articleLos Angeles, Boston, and New York Critics Online Announcing – Check for Winners
Next articleNew York Film Critics Online Reward ’12 Years a Slave’, Cuaron Wins Director
Clayton Davis
Clayton Davis--prolific writer and autism awareness advocate of Puerto Rican and Black descent, known for his relentless passion, dedication, and unique aptitude. Over the course of a decade, he has been criticizing both film and television extensively. To date, he has been either featured or quoted in an array of prominent outlets, including but not limited to The New York Times, CNN.com, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter. Growing up in the Bronx, Clayton’s avid interest in the movie world began the moment he first watched "Dead Poets Society” at just five years of age. While he struggled in English class all throughout grade school, he dived head first into writing, ultimately taking those insufficiencies and transforming them into ardent writings pertaining to all things film, television, and most importantly, the Academy Awards. In addition to crafting a collection of short stories that give a voice to films that haven’t made it to the silver screen, Clayton currently serves as the Founding Editor of AwardsCircuit.com. He also holds active voting membership at various esteemed organizations, such as the Broadcast Film Critics Association, Broadcast Television Journalists Association, African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, Black Reel Awards, and International Press Academy. Furthermore, Clayton obtained his B.A. degree in American Studies and Communications.