The Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association (or WAFCA) announced their nominees today. “La La Land” leads the way with nine nominations. WAFCA is one of the few groups that stays with the five nominees in Best Picture, and “La La Land” was joined by “Arrival,” “Hell or High Water,” “Manchester by the Sea” and “Moonlight.”

One of the big highlights from the group was once again some double dipping from the men from “Hell or High Water.” WAFCA is also the first group to cite the wonderful Molly Shannon in Best Supporting Actress for “Other People.”

Check out the full list of nominees below:


Best Film

  • Arrival
  • Hell or High Water
  • La La Land
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

Best Director

  • Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
  • Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
  • Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
  • David Mackenzie (Hell or High Water)
  • Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)

Best Actor

  • Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Joel Edgerton (Loving)
  • Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
  • Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
  • Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Actress

  • Amy Adams (Arrival)
  • Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
  • Ruth Negga (Loving)
  • Natalie Portman (Jackie)
  • Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
  • Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
  • Ben Foster (Hell or High Water)
  • Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Viola Davis (Fences)
  • Greta Gerwig (20th Century Women)
  • Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
  • Molly Shannon (Other People)
  • Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Acting Ensemble

  • Fences
  • Hell or High Water
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight
  • 20th Century Women

Best Youth Performance:

  • Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Lewis MacDougall (A Monster Calls)
  • Sunny Pawar (Lion)
  • Hailee Steinfeld (The Edge of Seventeen)
  • Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch)

Best Voice Performance

  • Jason Bateman (Zootopia)
  • Auli’i Cravalho (Moana)
  • Ellen DeGeneres (Finding Dory)
  • Ginnifer Goodwin (Zootopia)
  • Liam Neeson (A Monster Calls)

Best Motion Capture Performance

  • Liam Neeson (A Monster Calls)
  • Mark Rylance (The BFG)

Best Original Screenplay

  • Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water)
  • Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
  • Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Barry Jenkins, Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)
  • Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou (The Lobster)

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Eric Heisserer, Based on the Story “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang (Arrival)
  • August Wilson, Based on his Play (Fences)
  • Luke Davies, Adapted from the Memoir “A Long Way Home” by Saroo Brierley (Lion)
  • Patrick Ness, Based on his Novel (A Monster Calls)
  • Tom Ford, Based on the Novel “Tony and Susan” by Austin Wright (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Animated Feature

  • Finding Dory
  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • Sausage Party
  • Zootopia

Best Documentary

  • Gleason
  • I Am Not Your Negro
  • O.J.: Made in America
  • 13th
  • Weiner

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Elle
  • Julieta
  • The Handmaiden
  • The Salesman
  • Toni Erdmann

Best Production Design

  • Production Designer: Patrice Vermette; Key Decorator: Paul Hotte (Arrival)
  • Production Designer: Stuart Craig; Set Decorator: Anna Pinnock (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)
  • Production Designer: Jean Rabasse, ADC; Set Decorator: Véronique Melery (Jackie)
  • Production Designer: David Wasco; Set Decorator: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, SDSA (La La Land)
  • Craig Lathrop (The Witch)

Best Cinematography

  • Bradford Young, ASC (Arrival)
  • Stéphane Fontaine, AFC (Jackie)
  • Linus Sandgren, SFS (La La Land)
  • James Laxton (Moonlight)
  • Seamus McGarvey, ASC, BSC (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Editing

  • Joe Walker, ACE (Arrival)
  • Sebastián Sepúlveda (Jackie)
  • Tom Cross, ACE (La La Land)
  • Nat Sanders, Joi McMillon (Moonlight)
  • Blu Murray (Sully)

Best Original Score

  • Jóhann Jóhannsson (Arrival)
  • Mica Levi (Jackie)
  • Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
  • Nicholas Britell (Moonlight)
  • Cliff Martinez (The Neon Demon)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC

  • Jackie
  • Jason Bourne
  • Loving
  • Miss Sloane
  • Snowden

Discuss the WAFCA nominations in the comments below!

Previous articleAtlanta Film Critics Society Cite ‘La La Land’ and Annette Bening for ’20th Century Women’
Next articleBox Office: ‘Moana’ Continues to Win at the Box Office
Clayton Davis
Clayton Davis--prolific writer and autism awareness advocate of Puerto Rican and Black descent, known for his relentless passion, dedication, and unique aptitude. Over the course of a decade, he has been criticizing both film and television extensively. To date, he has been either featured or quoted in an array of prominent outlets, including but not limited to The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter. Growing up in the Bronx, Clayton’s avid interest in the movie world began the moment he first watched "Dead Poets Society” at just five years of age. While he struggled in English class all throughout grade school, he dived head first into writing, ultimately taking those insufficiencies and transforming them into ardent writings pertaining to all things film, television, and most importantly, the Academy Awards. In addition to crafting a collection of short stories that give a voice to films that haven’t made it to the silver screen, Clayton currently serves as the Founding Editor of He also holds active voting membership at various esteemed organizations, such as the Broadcast Film Critics Association, Broadcast Television Journalists Association, African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, Black Reel Awards, and International Press Academy. Furthermore, Clayton obtained his B.A. degree in American Studies and Communications.