On December 16 th , 2016, the Phoenix Critics Circle gathered to announce their winners. Below you’ll find their list of winners for the best films and performances of 2016.

Check out the Precursor Tracker on the Oscar Predictions page to see all the groups side by side!

Best Picture

Winner: Moonlight

  • Arrival
  • Hell or High Water
  • La La Land
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

Best Comedy Film

Winner: Hunt for the Wilderpeople

  • Deadpool
  • The Edge of Seventeen
  • Hail, Caesar!
  • Hunt for the Wilderpeople
  • The Nice Guys

Best Science Fiction Film

Winner: Arrival

  • 10 Cloverfield Lane
  • Arrival
  • Midnight Special

Best Horror Film

Winner: The Witch

  • The Conjuring 2
  • Don’t Breathe
  • The Witch

Best Mystery or Thriller Film

Winner: Hell or High Water

  • Green Room
  • Hell or High Water
  • Nocturnal Animals

Best Animated Film

Winner: Kubo and the Two Strings

  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • Zootopia

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: The Handmaiden

  • The Handmaiden
  • Neruda
  • Things to Come
  • The Wailing

Best Documentary

Winner: O.J.: Made in America

  • 13th
  • Gleason
  • O.J.: Made in America
  • Tickled
  • Weiner

Best Actor

Winner: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

  • Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
  • Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ryan Gosling, La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic

Best Actress

Winner: Natalie Portman, Jackie

  • Amy Adams, Arrival
  • Annette Bening, 20th Century Women
  • Jessica Chastain, Miss Sloane
  • Natalie Portman, Jackie
  • Emma Stone, La La Land

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight

  • Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
  • Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
  • Ben Foster, Hell or High Water
  • John Goodman, 10 Cloverfield Lane
  • Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Viola Davis, Fences

  • Viola Davis, Fences
  • Greta Gerwig, 20th Century Women
  • Naomie Harris, Moonlight
  • Helen Mirren, Eye in the Sky
  • Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

Winner: Tie: Damian Chazelle, La La Land and Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

  • Damian Chazelle, La La Land
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
  • Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester By The Sea
  • Denis Villeneuve, Arrival

Best Screenplay

Winner: Efthimis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster

  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land
  • Efthimis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster
  • Eric Heisserer, Arrival
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
  • Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water

Best Score

Winner: Justin Hurwitz, La La Land

  • Nicholas Britell, Moonlight
  • Justin Hurwitz, La La Land
  • Johann Johannsson, Arrival
  • Mica Levi, Jackie

The Phoenix Critics Circle is established as an association for professional film critique and analysis. Administered by the non-profit Phoenix Film Foundation, the Phoenix Critics Circle is committed to the progression and preservation of film and is composed of print, television, radio and online film critics from Arizona.

Previous articleOSCARS: 10 Films Remain in the Race for Visual Effects, ‘Kubo’ and ‘BFG’ Potential Spoilers?
Next articleLas Vegas Film Critics Winners – Michael Shannon Wins for ‘Nocturnal Animals’, ‘La La Land’ Wins Overall
Clayton Davis
Clayton Davis--prolific writer and autism awareness advocate of Puerto Rican and Black descent, known for his relentless passion, dedication, and unique aptitude. Over the course of a decade, he has been criticizing both film and television extensively. To date, he has been either featured or quoted in an array of prominent outlets, including but not limited to The New York Times, CNN.com, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter. Growing up in the Bronx, Clayton’s avid interest in the movie world began the moment he first watched "Dead Poets Society” at just five years of age. While he struggled in English class all throughout grade school, he dived head first into writing, ultimately taking those insufficiencies and transforming them into ardent writings pertaining to all things film, television, and most importantly, the Academy Awards. In addition to crafting a collection of short stories that give a voice to films that haven’t made it to the silver screen, Clayton currently serves as the Founding Editor of AwardsCircuit.com. He also holds active voting membership at various esteemed organizations, such as the Broadcast Film Critics Association, Broadcast Television Journalists Association, African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, Black Reel Awards, and International Press Academy. Furthermore, Clayton obtained his B.A. degree in American Studies and Communications.