Awards Circuit Announces Two Special ACCA Honors Chosen By Selected Jury


Director Pablo Larraín wins the Johnny Alba Innovation Award. Sound Engineer Kevin O’Connell named 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient.

NEW YORK (January 17, 2017) – The Awards Circuit Community Award Jury announced today its winners of the first Johnny Alba Innovation Award and 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Johnny Alba Innovation Award, named for the founder of the Oscar Igloo who inspired the creation and innovation of Awards Circuit, recognizes an individual who made a significant impression on the year in film. The jury chose to honor Pablo Larraín, the Chilean filmmaker of “Jackie,” who gave life to the oft-told tale of the Kennedy assassination while bringing forth a new vision in his first English-language film.

The jury also chose to name Kevin O’Connell the recipient of the first ACCA Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is given to an individual whose dedication to the film industry has made a lasting impact. O’Connell is the prolific sound re-recording mixer of over 200 iconic films. With 20 Oscar nominations, he has made some of cinema’s greatest achievements in sound. His contribution to an integral but often forgotten part of cinema can not be understated.

The two honorees were carefully selected from several submitted nominees. “This year, a jury of seven dedicated Awards Circuit followers and film enthusiasts from around the globe were proud to discuss, rationalize and ultimately award these two deserving winners,” the jury said in a statement. 

Voting for the nominations in Awards Circuit’s annual fan-voted ACCAs is going on now through Jan. 20. Click here to participate.

Click here to see the list of past winners and nominees of ACCA.


The Awards Circuit has been the premier entertainment and awards site since May 2008. It is owned and operated by Editor-in-Chief Clayton Davis. AC also staffs an eclectic group of writers, all from different walks of life, and all from different areas of the world.

Awards Circuit is committed to delivering unbiased news and awards coverage to both industry professionals and dedicated fans of film, television, music and theatre. Our diverse team of writers provide in-depth analysis of both American and international entertainment.


Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick-off to the awards season, the Critics’ Choice Awards. He’s also an active member of New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets, including The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film and The Hollywood Reporter.


Brooke Cale – Denver, CO

James Hart – San Antonio, TX

William George – Manalapan, NJ

Luke McGowan – Melbourne, Australia

Matthew St Clair – North Haven, CT

Paula Gajardo – La Serena, Chile

Trevor Barker – Ontario, Canada

# # #


Twitter: @AwardsCircuit




Hashtags: #AwardsCircuit, #ACCA, #ACCAFYC

# # #

Media Contact:

All Awards Circuit media inquiries may be directed to Clayton Davis at