Home Featured Post Houston Film Critics Nominations – ‘The Shape of Water’ Nabs 11, Dafne...
Logan (2017) Directed by James Mangold Shown: Dafne Keen

Houston Film Critics Nominations – ‘The Shape of Water’ Nabs 11, Dafne Keen Gets Supporting Nod

Read the Press Release:

“The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro’s adult-themed fantasy starring Sally Hawkins and Octavia Spencer, dominates the nominations for the Houston Film Critics Society Awards with 11 nods, including best picture. The list was announced Tuesday.

Other categories in which “The Shape of Water” is competing include actress (Sally Hawkins), supporting actor (Richard Jenkins), supporting actress (Octavia Spencer), and director.

Coming in behind “The Shape of Water” are Greta Gerwig’s coming-of-age dramedy “Lady Bird” and Luca Guadagnino’s summer romance “Call Me By Your Name” with seven nominations each, also including best picture.

While each of these has been lauded — “The Shape of Water” leads in the Golden Globes race as well with seven nominations — there are some surprises on the Houston list.

In the acting categories, at least two expected names — Tom Hanks and Meryl Streep, both from Steven Spielberg’s “The Post” — lost out in to the likes of newcomer Brooklyn Prince (“The Florida Project”), Robert Pattinson (“Good Time”), James Franco (“The Disaster Artist”), and Andy Serkis (“War for the Planet of the Apes”)

One notable omission comes in the Texas Independent Film Award category, honoring directors from the Lone Star State. While “It Comes at Night,” by Houston’s Trey Edward Shults, wasn’t an audience favorite, it was critically admired.

Winners in 16 categories will be announced Jan. 6, 2018 in a ceremony at the Midtown Arts and Theater Center Houston (MATCH).

Members of the Houston Film Critics Society are working in print, online, TV, and radio in the southeast Texas market.

For more information, go to www.houstonfilmcritics.org.

The other major critics group in the state, the Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association, announces its picks for the year Wednesday.

Here are the nominees in each category for the Houston awards:

The Big Sick
Call Me By Your Name
The Florida Project
Get Out
Lady Bird
The Post
The Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”
Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”
Christopher Nolan, “Dunkirk”
Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
Steven Spielberg, “The Post”

Timothee Chalamet, “Call Me By Your Name”
James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”
Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
Robert Pattinson, “Good Time”
Andy Serkis, “War for the Planet of the Apes”

Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water”
Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Brooklyn Prince, “The Florida Project”
Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”
Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”

Supporting Actor:
Willem Defoe, “The Florida Project”
Richard Jenkins, “The Shape of Water”
Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Patrick Stewart, “Logan”
Michael Stuhlbarg, “Call Me By Your Name”

Supporting Actress:
Holly Hunter, “The Big Sick”
Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
Dafne Keen, “Logan”
Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
Octavia Spencer, “The Shape of Water”

“The Big Sick,” Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele
“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig
“The Post,” Elizabeth Hanna and Josh Singer
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Martin McDonagh

“Blade Runner 2049,” Roger Deakins
“Call Me By Your Name,” Sayombhu Mukdeeprom
“Dunkirk,” Hoyte van Hoytema
“The Shape of Water,” Dan Laustsen
“Wonder Wheel,” Vittoria Storaro

Animated Film:
“The Breadwinner”
“Despicable Me 3”
“The Lego Batman Movie”
“Loving Vincent”

Original Score:
“Blade Runner 2049,” Ben Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer
“Dunkirk,” Hans Zimmer
“The Post,” John Williams
“The Shape of Water,” Alexandre Desplat
“War for the Planet of the Apes,” Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song:
“Evermore” (“Beauty and the Beast”)
“I Get Overwhelmed” (“A Ghost Story”)
“Never Forget” (“Murder on the Orient Express”)
“Remember Me” (“Coco”)
“Visions of Gideon” (“Call Me By Your Name”)

Foreign Language Film:
“Blade of the Immortal”
“First They Killed My Father”
“The Square”

Documentary Feature:
“Faces Places”
“The Work”

Visual Effects:
“Blade Runner 2049”
“The Shape of Water”
“War for the Planet of the Apes”

“Baby Driver”
“Logan Lucky”
“The Shape of Water”

Texas Independent Film Award:
“A Ghost Story”
“Mr. Roosevelt”
“Mustang Island”
“The Secret Life of Lance Letscher”
“Song to Song”

Have you missed a precursor?  Click the “PRECURSORS 2017” tag to bring up all the prizes thus far!



Previous articleFinal SAG Predictions – Will the SAG Ensemble Curse Be Broken?
Next articleNetflix and Dreamworks Partner for 6 New Animated Series Including ‘She-Ra’ Reboot
Clayton Davis
Clayton Davis--prolific writer and autism awareness advocate of Puerto Rican and Black descent, known for his relentless passion, dedication, and unique aptitude. Over the course of a decade, he has been criticizing both film and television extensively. To date, he has been either featured or quoted in an array of prominent outlets, including but not limited to The New York Times, CNN.com, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter. Growing up in the Bronx, Clayton’s avid interest in the movie world began the moment he first watched "Dead Poets Society” at just five years of age. While he struggled in English class all throughout grade school, he dived head first into writing, ultimately taking those insufficiencies and transforming them into ardent writings pertaining to all things film, television, and most importantly, the Academy Awards. In addition to crafting a collection of short stories that give a voice to films that haven’t made it to the silver screen, Clayton currently serves as the Founding Editor of AwardsCircuit.com. He also holds active voting membership at various esteemed organizations, such as the Broadcast Film Critics Association, Broadcast Television Journalists Association, African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, Black Reel Awards, and International Press Academy. Furthermore, Clayton obtained his B.A. degree in American Studies and Communications.