It is always exciting when younger critics groups get in on the fray early. This year, we get that opportunity with the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society announcing their nominees today. Only in its second year of existence, LAOFCS has given a strong push for one of the best picture hopefuls looking to make history. “Black Panther” gets a huge push from the group, tying with “The Favourite” for the most nominations with ten. For “The Favourite” this puts an exclamation point on an excellent day. For “Black Panther,” the critics of the organization have shown the film belongs among the year’s best. The full nominations are listed below.

2018 LAOFCS Nominations

Best Picture:

A Star is Born

Eighth Grade

Black Panther

The Favourite

The Hate U Give


Green Book


A Quiet Place


Best Actor:

Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody

Bradley Cooper – A Star is Born

Christian Bale – Vice

Ethan Hawke – First Reformed

Viggo Mortensen – Green Book

Best Actress:

Toni Collette – Hereditary

Charlize Theron – Tully

Lady Gaga – A Star is Born

Olivia Colman – The Favourite

Nicole Kidman – Destroyer

Best Supporting Actor:

Adam Driver – BlackKklansman

Mahershala Ali – Green Book

Russell Hornsby – The Hate U Give

Sam Elliott – A Star is Born

Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Supporting Actress:

Elizabeth Debicki – Widows

Emma Stone – The Favourite

Rachel Weisz – The Favourite

Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk

Amy Adams – Vice

Best Adapted Screenplay:

Bradley Cooper and Eric Roth – A Star is Born

Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, and Charlie Wachtel – BlacKkKlansman

Barry Jenkins – If Beale Street Could Talk

Audrey Wells – The Hate U Give

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Original Screenplay:

Bryan Woods, Scott Beck, and John Krasinski – A Quiet Place

Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade

Tony McNamara and Deborah Davis – The Favourite

Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You

Adam McKay – Vice

Best Male Director:

Alfonso Cuaron – Roma

Spike Lee – BlackKklansman

Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite

Bradley Cooper – A Star is Born

Ryan Coogler – Black Panther

Best Female Director:

Chloe Zhao – The Rider

Debra Granik – Leave No Trace

Tamara Jenkins – Private Life

Marielle Heller – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Lynne Ramsey – You Were Never Really Here

Best Animated Film:

Incredibles 2

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Isle of Dogs

Ralph Breaks the Internet


Best Foreign Film:


Cold War




Best Documentary:

Free Solo

Minding the Gap


Three Identical Strangers

Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Best Visual Effects:

Ready Player One

Mission Impossible – Fallout

First Man

Black Panther

Avengers: Infinity War 

Best Cinematography:

Linus Sandgren – First Man

James Laxton – If Beale Street Could Talk

Alfonso Cuarón – Roma

Robbie Ryan – The Favourite

Rachel Morrison – Black Panther

Best Blockbuster:

Avengers: Infinity War

Black Panther

Deadpool 2

Mission: Impossible Fallout

Ready Player One

Best Independent Film:

Eighth Grade

First Reformed

Sorry to Bother You

Ben Is Back

If Beale Street Could Talk

Best First Feature:

Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade

Bradley Cooper – A Star is Born

Ari Aster – Hereditary

Paul Dano – Wildlife

Aneesh Chaganty – Searching

Best Comedy/Musical:

Crazy Rich Asians

Game Night

Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again!

The Favourite

Bohemian Rhapsody

Best Action Film:

Mission: Impossible  -Fallout

Black Panther

Avengers: Infinity War

Deadpool 2


Best Sci-Fi/Horror:

A Quiet Place





Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under:

Alex Wolff – Hereditary

Lucas Hedges – Boy Erased

Lucas Hedges – Ben Is Back

Noah Jupe – A Quiet Place

Timothée Chalamet – Beautiful Boy

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under:

Amandla Stenberg – The Hate You Give

Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade

Millicent Simmonds – A Quiet Place

Milly Shapiro – Hereditary

Thomasin McKenzie- Leave No Trace

Best Breakthrough Performance:

Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade

John David Washington – BlackKklansman

Lady Gaga – A Star is Born

Yalitza Aparicio – Roma

Amandla Stenberg – The Hate U Give

Best Cast:

Black Panther

The Favourite


Crazy Rich Asians


Best Stunt Work:

Avengers: Infinity War

Mission: Impossible – Fallout

Black Panther



Best Score:

Justin Hurwitz – First Man

Nicholas Britell – If Beale Street Could Talk

Alexandre Desplat – Isle of Dogs

Ludwig Göransson- Black Panther

Terence Blanchard – BlackKklansman

Best Original Song:

All the Stars – Black Panther

Shallow – A Star is Born

Hollywood Ending – Anna and The Apocalypse

Revelation – Boy Erased

Hearts Beat Loud – Hearts Beat Loud 

Best Editing:

Adam Gough and Alfonso Cuarón – Roma

Nicholas D. Johnson and Will Merrick – Searching

Yorgos Mavropsaridis – The Favourite

Barry Alexander Brown – BlackKklansman

Hank Corwin – Vice

Best Visual Effects or Animated Performance: 

Ben Whishaw – Paddington 2

Jason Liles –  Rampage

Josh Brolin – Avengers: Infinity War

Phoebe Waller-Bridge – Solo: A Star Wars Story

Tom Hardy – Venom

About LAOFCS: 

The goal of the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society is to create a critics group that appropriately reflects a varied history and perspective of people from various races and genders. 

Contact Us:

Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society

What do you think of the 2018 LAOFCS nominations? Who received the biggest boost? Let us hear your thoughts in the comments below!

The LAOFCS will hold their ceremony on Jan. 9th, 2019.

Be sure to check out the Official Oscar Predictions Page to see where this year’s films and performances rank among the contenders!