Davis Awards 2004 - AwardsCircuit.com - By Clayton Davis

Davis Awards 2004

Best Motion Picture

  • “Closer” – Cary Brokaw; John Calley; Mike Nichols
  • “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” – Anthony Bregman; Steve Golin
  • “Garden State” – Pamela Abdy; Gary Gilbert; Dan Halsted; Richard Klubeck
  • “The Incredibles” – John Walker
  • “Million Dollar Baby” – Clint Eastwood; Paul Haggis; Tom Rosenberg; Albert S. Ruddy

Best Achievement in Directing

  • Zach Braff – “Garden State”
  • Clint Eastwood – “Million Dollar Baby”
  • Michel Gondry – “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
  • Mike Nichols – “Closer”
  • Alexander Payne – “Sideways”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

  • Jim Carrey – “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
  • Leonardo DiCaprio – “The Aviator”
  • Clint Eastwood – “Million Dollar Baby”
  • Paul Giamatti – “Sideways”
  • Liam Neeson – “Kinsey”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

  • Julie Delpy – “Before Sunset”
  • Laura Dern – “We Don’t Live Here Anymore”
  • Julia Roberts – “Closer”
  • Uma Thurman – “Kill Bill Vol. 2″
  • Kate Winslet – “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Thomas Haden Church – “Sideways”
  • Freddie Highmore – “Finding Neverland”
  • Clive Owen – “Closer”
  • Liev Schreiber – “The Manchurian Candidate”
  • Mark Wahlberg – “I Heart Huckabees”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Cate Blanchett – “The Aviator”
  • Regina King – “Ray”
  • Virginia Madsen – “Sideways”
  • Maia Morgenstern – “The Passion of the Christ”
  • Natalie Portman – “Closer”

Best Original Screenplay

  • Charle Kaufman, Michel Gondry, Pierre Bismuth – “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
  • Zach Braff – “Garden State”
  • Terry George & Kier Pearson – “Hotel Rwanda”
  • Brad Bird – “The Incredibles”
  • Simon Pegg & Edgar Wright – “Shaun of the Dead”

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Patrick Marber – “Closer”
  • David Magee – “Finding Neverland”
  • Tina Fey – “Mean Girls”
  • Paul Haggis – “Million Dollar Baby”
  • Alexander Payne & Jim Taylor – “Sideways”

Best Performance by a Cast Ensemble

  • “The Aviator”
  • “Closer”
  • “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
  • “Million Dollar Baby”
  • “Sideways”

Best Original Score

  • Sean Patrick Morrissey – “Closer”
  • Jan A.P. Kaczmarek – “Finding Neverland”
  • Clint Eastwood – “Million Dollar Baby”
  • John Debney – “The Passion of the Christ”
  • James Newton Howard – “The Village”

Best Achievement in Film Editing

  • Valdís Óskarsdóttir – “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
  • Myron I. Kerstein – “Garden State”
  • Stephen Schaffer – “The Incredibles”
  • John Wright – “The Passion of the Christ”
  • Paul Hirsch – “Ray”
Best Achievement in Cinematography
  • Robert Richardson – “The Aviator”
  • Dion Beebe & Paul Cameron – “Collateral”
  • Ellen Kuras – “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
  • Robert Richardson – “Kill Bill Vol. 2″
  • Caleb Deschanel – “The Passion of the Christ”

Best Achievement in Costume Design

  • Sandy Powell – “The Aviator”
  • Alexander Byrne – “Finding Neverland”
  • Colleen Atwood – “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events”
  • Alexandra Byrne – “The Phantom of the Opera”
  • Sharen Davis – “Ray”

Best Achievement in Art Direction

  • “The Aviator”
  • “Finding Neverland”
  • “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events”
  • “Ray”
  • “The Village”

Best Achievement in Sound

  • “The Aviator”
  • “Collateral”
  • “The Incredibles”
  • “Ray”
  • “Spider-Man 2″

Best Song From/Used in a Motion Picture

  • “Blower’s Daughter” from “Closer”
  • “Let Go” from “Garden State”
  • “Million Voices” from “Hotel Rwanda”
  • “Hit the Road Jack” from “Ray”
  • “America…Fuck Yeah” from “Team America: World Police”
The following two tabs change content below.

Clayton Davis

Editor-in-Chief & Owner at The Awards Circuit
Clayton Davis started to write professionally in his sophomore year of college when Johnny Alba, the editor and owner of the old Oscar prediction site, The Oscar Igloo, had an opening for staff writers. Clayton wrote for The Igloo for nearly four years before being appointed editor and revamping and renaming The Oscar Igloo into the now popular mega-site, The Awards Circuit. Since then, Clayton has become a proud member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to awards season show, The Critics Choice Awards. Most recently, Clayton is a now an active member of the International Press Academy, which hosts the popular Satellite Awards as well as the newly integrated Broadcast Television Journalists Association, which hosts the Critics Choice Television Awards. In June 2014 he became the year's first accepted member to New York Film Critics Online. He has been quoted in various outlets (CNN.com, Bloomberg.com, TheWrap.com, AceShowbiz.com, SlashFilm.com, ScottFeinberg.com) and continues to raise the bar for film-talking enthusiasts around the globe.