Davis Awards 2006 - AwardsCircuit.com - By Clayton Davis

Davis Awards 2006

Best Motion Picture

  • “Bobby” – Edward Bass; Michel Litvak; Holly Wiersma
  • “Little Children” – Albert Berger; Todd Field; Ron Yerxa
  • “Little Miss Sunshine” – Albert Berger; David T. Friendly; Peter Saraf; Mark Turtletaub; Ron Yerxa
  • “Pan’s Labyrinth” – Alvaro Augustin; Alfonso Cuaron; Bertha Navarro; Guillermo del Toro; Frida Torresblanco
  • “United 93″ – Tim Bevan; Eric Fellner; Paul Greengrass; Lloyd Levin

Best Achievement in Directing

  • Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Guillermo del Toro – “Pan’s Labyrinth”
  • Todd Field – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Paul Greengrass – “United 93″
  • Martin Scorsese – “The Departed”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

  • Leonardo DiCaprio – “The Departed”
  • Will Ferrell – “Stranger than Fiction”
  • Ryan Gosling – “Half Nelson”
  • Shia LeBeouf – “A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints”
  • Forest Whitaker – “The Last King of Scotland”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

  • Penelope Cruz – “Volver”
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal – “Sherrybaby”
  • Helen Mirren – “The Queen”
  • Ellen Page – “Hard Candy”
  • Kate Winslet – “Little Children”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Alan Arkin – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Steve Carell – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Jackie Earle Haley – “Little Children”
  • Freddy Rodriguez – “Bobby”
  • Michael Sheen – “The Queen”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Adriana Barraza – “Babel”
  • Cate Blanchett – “Notes on a Scandal”
  • Abigail Breslin – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal – “World Trade Center”
  • Jennifer Hudson – “Dreamgirls”

Best Original Screenplay

  • Emilio Estevez – “Bobby”
  • Michael Arndt – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Guillermo del Toro – “Pan’s Labyrinth”
  • Zach Helm – “Stranger than Fiction”
  • Pedro Almodovar – “Volver”

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Alfonso Cuaron, Timothy J. Sexton, Mike Fergus, David Arata, Hawk Ostby – “Children of Men”
  • William Monahan – “The Departed”
  • Iris Yamashita & Paul Haggis – “Letters from Iwo Jima”
  • Todd Field & Tom Perrotta – “Little Children”
  • Patrick Marber – “Notes on a Scandal”

Best Performance by a Cast Ensemble

  • “Bobby”
  • “The Departed”
  • “Dreamgirls”
  • “A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints”
  • “Little Miss Sunshine”

Best Original Score

  • Mark Isham – “Bobby”
  • Mychael Danna – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Javier Navarette – “Pan’s Labyrinth”
  • Alexandre Desplat – “The Queen”
  • John Powell – “United 93″

Best Achievement in Film Editing

  • Robert Chew – “Bobby”
  • Thelma Schoonmaker – “The Departed”
  • Leo Trombetta – “Little Children”
  • Pamela Martin – “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • Clare Douglas, Richard Pearson, Christopher Rouse – “United 93″

Best Achievement in Cinematography

  • Dean Semler – “Apocalypto”
  • Rodrigo Prieto – “Babel”
  • Emmanuel Lubezski – “Children of Men”
  • Tom Stern – “Letters from Iwo Jima”
  • Guillermo Navarro – “Pan’s Labyrinth”

Best Achievement in Costume Design

  • Julie Weiss – “Bobby”
  • Patricia Field – “The Devil Wears Prada”
  • Sharen Davis – “Dreamgirls”
  • Lala Huete – “Pan’s Labyrinth”
  • Joan Bergin – “The Prestige”

Best Achievement in Art Direction

  • “Apocalypto”
  • “Dreamgirls”
  • “Flags of our Fathers”
  • “Pan’s Labyrinth”
  • “The Prestige”

Best Achievement in Sound

  • “The Departed”
  • “Dreamgirls”
  • “A Prairie Home Companion”
  • “Superman Returns”
  • “United 93″

Best Song From/Used in a Motion Picture

  • “Never Gonna Break my Faith” from “Bobby”
  • “And I Am Telling You (I’m Not Going)” from “Dreamgirls”
  • “Listen” from “Dreamgirls”
  • “Til the End of Time” from “Little Miss Sunshine”
  • “Volver” from “Volver”
The following two tabs change content below.

Clayton Davis

Editor-in-Chief & Owner at The Awards Circuit
Clayton Davis started to write professionally in his sophomore year of college when Johnny Alba, the editor and owner of the old Oscar prediction site, The Oscar Igloo, had an opening for staff writers. Clayton wrote for The Igloo for nearly four years before being appointed editor and revamping and renaming The Oscar Igloo into the now popular mega-site, The Awards Circuit. Since then, Clayton has become a proud member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to awards season show, The Critics Choice Awards. Most recently, Clayton is a now an active member of the International Press Academy, which hosts the popular Satellite Awards as well as the newly integrated Broadcast Television Journalists Association, which hosts the Critics Choice Television Awards. In June 2014 he became the year's first accepted member to New York Film Critics Online. He has been quoted in various outlets (CNN.com, Bloomberg.com, TheWrap.com, AceShowbiz.com, SlashFilm.com, ScottFeinberg.com) and continues to raise the bar for film-talking enthusiasts around the globe.