ACCA 2001 - - By Clayton Davis

ACCA 2001

moulinrougeBOLD = Winner
Italics = Runner Up

Best Motion Picture

  • “Amelie” – Jean-Marc Deschamps & Claude Ossard
  • “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” – Peter Jackson, Barrie M. Osbourne, Tim Sanders, Fran Walsh – RUNNER UP
  • “Memento” – Jennifer Todd & Suzanne Todd
  • “Moulin Rouge!” – Fred Baron, Martin Brown, Baz Luhrmann
  • “Mulholland Dr.” – Neal Edelstein, Tony Krantz, Michael Polaire, Alain Sarde, Mary Sweeney

Best Achievement in Directing

  • Peter Jackson – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”
  • Jean Pierre Jeunet – “Amelie”
  • Baz Luhrmann – “Moulin Rouge!”
  • David Lynch – “Mulholland Dr.” – RUNNER UP
  • Christopher Nolan – “Memento”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

  • Russell Crowe – “A Beautiful Mind”
  • Gene Hackman – “The Royal Tenenbaums”
  • Ewan McGregor – “Moulin Rouge!”
  • Guy Pearce – “Memento”
  • Denzel Washington – “Training Day” – RUNNER UP

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

  • Halle Berry – “Monster’s Ball”
  • Nicole Kidman – “Moulin Rouge!”
  • Nicole Kidman – “The Others”
  • Audrey Tautou – “Amelie”
  • Naomi Watts – “Mulholland Dr.” – RUNNER UP

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Jim Broadbent – “Iris”
  • Jim Broadbent – “Moulin Rouge!” – RUNNER UP
  • Ethan Hawke – “Training Day”
  • Ben Kingsley – “Sexy Beast”
  • Ian McKellen – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Jennifer Connelly – “A Beautiful Mind”
  • Helen Mirren – “Gosford Park”
  • Maggie Smith – “Gosford Park”
  • Marisa Tomei – “In the Bedroom” – RUNNER UP
  • Kate Winslet – “Iris”

Best Original Screenplay

  • Guillaume Laurant & Jean-Pierre Jeunet – “Amelie”
  • Julian Fellowes – “Gosford Park” – RUNNER UP
  • Christopher Nolan & Jonathan Nolan – “Memento”
  • David Lynch – “Mulholland Dr.”
  • Wes Anderson & Owen Wilson – “The Royal Tenenbaums”

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Akiva Goldsman – “A Beautiful Mind”
  • Daniel Clowes & Terry Zwigoff – “Ghost World”
  • Todd Field & Robert Festinger – “In the Bedroom” – RUNNER UP
  • Fran Walsh, Phillippa Boyens, Peter Jackson – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”
  • Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio, Joe Stillman, Roger S.H. Schulman – “Shrek”
Best Performance by a Cast Ensemble
  • Paul Bettany, Jennifer Connelly, Russell Crowe, Adam Goldberg, Ed Harris, Judd Hirsch, Josh Lucas, Austin Pendleton, Christopher Plummer, Anthony Rapp, Jason Gray-Stanford – “A Beautiful Mind”
  • Tom Wilkinson, Sissy Spacek, Marisa Tomei, Nick Stahl, William Mapother – “In the Bedroom”
  • Eileen Atkins, Bob Balaban, Alan Bates, Charles Dance, Stephen Fry, Michael Gambon, Richard E. Grant, Tom Hollander, Derek Jacobi, Kelly Macdonald, Helen Mirren, Jeremy Northam, Clive Owen, Ryan Phillippe, Kristin Scott Thomas, Maggie Smith, Geraldine Somerville, Sophie Thompson, Emily Watson, James Wilby – “Gosford Park” – RUNNER UP
  • Sean Astin, Sean Bean, Cate Blanchett, Orlando Bloom, Billy Boyd, Ian Holm, Christopher Lee, Ian McKellen, Dominic Monaghan, Viggo Mortensen, John Rhys-Davies, Andy Serkis, Liv Tyler, Hugo Weaving, Elijah Wood – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”
  • Ewan McGregor, Nicole Kidman, Jim Broadbent, John Leguizamo, Richard Roxburgh – “Moulin Rouge!”
  • Danny Glover, Gene Hackman, Anjelica Huston, Bill Murray, Gwyneth Paltrow, Ben Stiller, Luke Wilson, Owen Wilson – “The Royal Tenenbaums”
Best Achievement in Cinematography
  • Janusz Kaminski – “A.I.: Artificial Intelligence”
  • Bruno Delbonnel – “Amelie” – RUNNER UP
  • Slawomir Idziak – “Black Hawk Down”
  • Andrew Lesnie – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”
  • Donald McAlpine – ‘Moulin Rouge!”
Best Achievement in Film Editing
  • Hervé Schneid – “Amelie”
  • Pietro Scalia – “Black Hawk Down”
  • John Gilbert – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” – RUNNER UP
  • Dody Dorn – “Memento”
  • Jill Bilcock – “Moulin Rouge!”
Best Original Score
  • John Williams – “A.I.: Artificial Intelligence”
  • Yann Tiersen – “Amelie”
  • James Horner – “A Beautiful Mind”
  • John Williams – “Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone” – RUNNER UP
  • Howard Shore – “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”
Best Visual Effects
  • “A.I.: Artificial Intelligence” – RUNNER UP
  • “Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone”
  • “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”
  • “Moulin Rouge!”
  • “Pearl Harbor”
Best Animated Feature
  • “Monster’s Inc.” – RUNNER UP
  • “Shrek”
  • “Waking Life”
Best Foreign Language Film
  • “Amelie”
  • “In the Mood for Love”
  • “No Man’s Land”
  • “The Piano Teacher” – RUNNER UP
Honorable Mentions
  • “A Beautiful Mind”
  • “Shrek”
  • “Monster’s Inc”
  • “Donnie Darko”
  • “In the Bedroom”
  • “The Royal Tenenbaums”
  • “Gosford Park”
  • “A.I.: Artificial Intelligence”
  • “Black Hawk Down”
The following two tabs change content below.

Clayton Davis

Editor-in-Chief & Owner at The Awards Circuit
Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a proud member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to awards season show, The Critics Choice Movie Awards. He's also an active member of New York Film Critics Online, the International Press Academy, which hosts the popular Satellite Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, which hosts the Critics Choice Television Awards. He has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include the New York Times,, Bloomberg Television, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter. He resides in New Jersey with his wife and two children.