ACCA 2003 - - By Clayton Davis

ACCA 2003


Best Motion Picture

  • Finding Nemo – Graham Walters
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – Barrie M. Osbourne; Peter Jackson; Fran Walsh – WINNER
  • Lost in Translation – Sofia Coppola; Ross Katz
  • Kill Bill Vol. 1 – Lawrence Bender – RUNNER UP
  • Mystic River – Robert Lorenz; Judie Hoyt; Clint Eastwood

Best Achievement in Directing

  • Sofia Coppola – Lost in Translation
  • Clint Eastwood – Mystic River
  • Peter Jackson – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – WINNER
  • Fernando Meirelles – City of God – RUNNER UP
  • Quentin Tarantino – Kill Bill Vol. 1

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Johnny Depp – Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl – WINNER
  • Ben Kingsley – House of Sand and Fog
  • Bill Murray – Lost in Translation – RUNNER UP
  • Sean Penn – 21 Grams
  • Sean Penn – Mystic River

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Scarlett Johansson – Lost in Translation – RUNNER UP
  • Charlize Theron – Monster – WINNER
  • Uma Thurman – Kill Bill Vol. 1
  • Naomi Watts – 21 Grams
  • Evan Rachel Wood – Thirteen

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Sean Astin – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
  • Benicio del Toro – 21 Grams – RUNNER UP
  • Albert Finney – Big Fish
  • Viggo Mortensen – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
  • Tim Robbins – Mystic River – WINNER

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Shohreh Aghdashloo – House of Sand and Fog
  • Marcia Gay Harden – Mystic River – RUNNER UP
  • Holly Hunter – Thirteen
  • Laura Linney – Mystic River
  • Renee Zellweger – Cold Mountain – WINNER

Best Original Screenplay

  • Guillermo Arriaga – 21 Grams
  • Jim Sheridan, Naomi Sheridan, Kristen Sheridan – In America
  • Quentin Tarantino – Kill Bill Vol. 1 – RUNNER UP
  • Sofia Coppola – Lost in Translation – WINNER
  • Richard Curtis – Love Actually

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Shari Springer Berman & Robert Pulcini – American Splendor
  • John August – Big Fish
  • Bráulio Mantovani – City of God – RUNNER UP
  • Anthony Minghella – Cold Mountain
  • Brian Helegand – Mystic River – WINNER

Best Performance by a Cast Ensemble

  • 21 Grams – Sean Penn, Naomi Watts, Benicio del Toro, Melissa Leo, Danny Huston, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Eddie Marsan
  • Cold Mountain – Jude Law, Nicole Kidman, Renee Zellweger, Natalie Portman, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Brendan Gleeson, Eileen Atkins, Giovanni Ribisi, Kathy Baker, Ray Winstone, James Gammon, Donald Sutherland
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – Sean Astin, Sean Bean, Cate Blanchett, Orlando Bloom, Billy Boyd, Brad Dourif, Bernard Hill, Ian Holm, Ian McKellen, Dominic Monaghan, Viggo Mortensen, John Noble, Miranda Otto, John Rhys-Davies, Andy Serkis, Liv Tyler, Karl Urban, Hugo Weaving, David Wenham, Elijah Wood – WINNER
  • Kill Bill Vol. 1 – Uma Thurman, David Carradine, Michael Madsen, Vivica A. Fox, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah
  • Mystic River – Sean Penn, Tim Robbins, Kevin Bacon, Laurence Fishburne, Marcia Gay Harden, Laura Linney, Thomas Guiry, Emmy Rossum – RUNNER UP

Best Cinematography

  • Philippe Rousselot – Big Fish
  • Cesar Charlone – City of God – RUNNER UP
  • John Seale – Cold Mountain
  • Robert Richardson – Kill Bill Vol. 1
  • Andrew Lesnie – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – WINNER

Best Original Score

  • Danny Elfman – Big Fish
  • Gabriel Yared – Cold Mountain
  • Thomas Newman – Finding Nemo
  • Howard Shore – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – WINNER
  • Klaus Badett – Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl – RUNNER UP

Best Film Editing

  • Stephen Mirrione – 21 Grams
  • Daniel Rezende – City of God – RUNNER UP
  • Sally Menke – Kill Bill Vol. 1
  • Jamie Selkirk – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – WINNER
  • Joel Cox – Mystic River

Best Visual Effects

  • Big Fish – RUNNER UP
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – WINNER
  • X2: X-Men United

Best Animated Feature

  • Brother Bear
  • Finding Nemo – WINNER
  • The Triplettes of Belleville – RUNNER UP

Best Foreign Language Film

  • The Barbarian Invasions
  • City of God – WINNER
  • Goodbye Lenin – RUNNER UP
  • Osama
  • The Triplettes of Belleville – RUNNER UP

Honorable Mentions

  • 21 Grams
  • Big Fish
  • City of God
  • Cold Mountain
  • In America
  • The Last Samurai
  • Love Actually
  • Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
  • Seabiscuit
The following two tabs change content below.

Clayton Davis

Editor-in-Chief & Owner at The Awards Circuit
Clayton Davis started to write professionally in his sophomore year of college when Johnny Alba, the editor and owner of the old Oscar prediction site, The Oscar Igloo, had an opening for staff writers. Clayton wrote for The Igloo for nearly four years before being appointed editor and revamping and renaming The Oscar Igloo into the now popular mega-site, The Awards Circuit. Since then, Clayton has become a proud member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to awards season show, The Critics Choice Awards. Most recently, Clayton is a now an active member of the International Press Academy, which hosts the popular Satellite Awards as well as the newly integrated Broadcast Television Journalists Association, which hosts the Critics Choice Television Awards. In June 2014 he became the year's first accepted member to New York Film Critics Online. He has been quoted in various outlets (,,,,, and continues to raise the bar for film-talking enthusiasts around the globe.