Circuit Breaker Podcast Episode 6: Summer Oscars, NYFF Lineup, and Alfred Hitchcock

Welcome to the Awards Circuit podcast titled “CIRCUIT BREAKER!“, a weekly podcast from featuring host Clayton Davis along with panelists Sam Coffey, Mark Johnson, and Joey Magidson.  We discuss movies, television and all the awards shows that need predicting. New episodes are released every Monday. Find us on Twitter at@Circuit_Pod, email us at, and […]


Cheryl Boone Isaacs Re-Elected Academy President

LOS ANGELES, CA – Cheryl Boone Isaacs was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night (August 2) by the organization’s Board of Governors. Also elected to officer positions by the Board: Jeffrey Kurland, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee) John Bailey, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History […]


The Academy Elects 2016–17 Board of Governors

LOS ANGELES, CA – The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2016–17 Board of Governors.  A runoff election is required for the Film Editors Branch. “I’m honored and privileged to welcome the Academy’s new Board,” said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs. “I thank our members for actively participating and […]


The Academy Announces Key Dates for 89th Oscars®

Read the Press Release: LOS ANGELES, CA – The Academy and the ABC Television Network today announced key dates for the 89th Oscars®.  The Academy Awards® presentation will air live on ABC on Oscar® Sunday, February 26, 2017. Academy key dates for the 2016 Awards season are: Saturday, November 12, 2016                    Governors Awards Thursday, January […]


AMPAS Invites 683 New Members for the Academy Awards 2017

Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs released the following statement today regarding its invitation to the new 683 membership: On behalf of the Academy, I am honored to extend membership invitations to 683 distinguished filmmakers, artists and executives who represent the best in our global film community, and who have made a lasting impact on movie […]


John Singleton’s ‘Boyz N the Hood’ Leads Academy’s June Programming Slate for LA and NYC

LOS ANGELES, CA – The Academy today announced its June slate of Los Angeles and New York programs: a “Boyz N the Hood” 25th anniversary celebration, a digital restoration premiere of Alfred Hitchcock’s “Rebecca” and a 60th anniversary screening of the George Stevens epic “Giant.”  The events will be highlighted by onstage discussions with a […]


The Academy Focuses a “Spotlight on Screenwriting” in New York City

Screenwriting Series to Feature Films by Charles Brackett and Billy Wilder, An Evening with Walter Bernstein, and a Special Sneak Preview of “Ghostbusters” New York, NY – The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present “Spotlight on Screenwriting,” a summer series illuminating the art of writing for motion pictures, beginning May 15 at […]


The Academy Adds Diverse Voices To Its Leadership – Gael García Bernal Among the Additions

Read the Press Release: LOS ANGELES, CA – Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs today appointed three new governors to join the Academy’s 51-seat Board. Reginald Hudlin (Directors Branch), Gregory Nava (Writers Branch) and Jennifer Yuh Nelson (Short Films and Feature Animation Branch) were confirmed by the current Board members for three-year terms, effective immediately. “I’m proud […]


Awards Circuit Power Hour Episode 180: Diversity in AMPAS, SAG Predictions, and New Rules

Welcome to another edition of the Awards Circuit Power Hour, our weekly podcast diving deep into all things film, television, and entertainment. On the agenda: Recent changes to the Academy Awards have been announced and we give our opinions on those changes and what we think SHOULD happen. Our SAG Predictions for next week’s ceremony. […]


Chris Rock Returns to Host the Oscars®

LOS ANGELES, CA – Multi-hyphenate artist and filmmaker Chris Rock will return to host the Oscars® for a second time, producers David Hill and Reginald Hudlin announced today.  The 88th Academy Awards® will be broadcast live on Oscar® Sunday, February 28, 2016, on the ABC Television Network.  Rock previously hosted the 77th Oscars telecast in […]


Academy Invites 322 to Membership – Kevin Hart and Damian Chazelle Among the Newest Members

LOS ANGELES, CA – The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 322 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.  Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2015. “It’s gratifying to acknowledge […]


Oscars Seem to Stick with Sliding Scale for Best Picture as Awards Rules are Updated!

As seen in the press release below, there’s no mention of switching back to five Best Picture nominees for the upcoming Academy Awards celebration.  AMPAS released their Awards Rules for the upcoming awards season. The only mentions seem to be related to the producer’s credit for the Oscars, the Visual Effects bakeoff, and the shorts. […]

Oscar Predictions

Academy Selects Show Dates for 2016, 2017, 2018; Key Dates Announced For 88TH OSCARS®

LOS ANGELES, CA — The Academy and the ABC Television Network today announced the dates for the 88th, 89th and 90th Oscar® presentations.  The Academy Awards® will air live on ABC on Oscar Sunday, February 28, 2016, February 26, 2017, and March 4, 2018, respectively. Academy key dates for the 2015 Awards season are: Saturday, […]


Oscars 2015: Will Win/Should Win Selections (Mark Johnson)

It’s Oscar Week! Each staff member will be revealing their final picks for the upcoming Academy Awards on February 22. Missed one? Click on Will Win/Should Win 2015. Make sure to make your picks in our Oscar Pool hosted by Fun Office Pools. For those of us who are obsessed with the Oscar race, February 22nd […]