‘Moonlight’ Sweeps the Independent Spirit Awards with 6 Wins

The Independent Spirit Awards handed out their prizes last night where “Moonlight” walked away with 6 prizes.  It would have been interesting if some of the cast members had been eligible for the acting categories, it may have ticked up towards 8 or 9 awards. Check out the full list of winners below: BEST FEATURE […]

wga awards

WGA Awards Winners -‘Moonlight’ Bests ‘La La Land’ and ‘Manchester’ in Original, ‘Arrival’ Takes Adapted

The Writers Guild of America announced its winners in film, television, radio and more Sunday. It is important to note that “Moonlight” was classified by the WGA as an original screenplay. The Academy, however, nominated “Moonlight” for Best Adapted Screenplay, deeming it ineligible in the original category. Check out the full list of nominees and winners below […]

Greig Fraser and ‘Lion’ Win at ASC Awards

Read the Press Release: HOLLYWOOD –Director of photography Greig Fraser, ASC ACS’s imagery for the motion picture Lion won the American Society of Cinematographers’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in Theatrical Releases on Saturday. “Being acknowledged by the ASC is deeply moving,” says Fraser. “I’m so grateful to be here on behalf of the […]

Stunt Performers from “Hacksaw Ridge” and “Game of Thrones” Announced as 23rd SAG Awards Honorees

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 29, 2017) — The stunt performers and coordinators from “Hacksaw Ridge” and “Game of Thrones” were announced as this year’s Screen Actors Guild Awards® honorees for Outstanding Action Performances by Film and Television Stunt Ensembles. SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris and SAG Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams revealed the names during the People, […]

ACE Eddie Awards Winners – ‘La La Land’ and ‘Arrival’ Emerge as Rivals for the Oscar

Read the Press Release: Beverly Hills, January 27 – “Arrival” (edited by Joe Walker, ACE) and “La La Land” (edited by Tom Cross, ACE) won Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic) and Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy) respectively at the 67th Annual ACE Eddie Awards tonight where trophies were handed out recognizing the best editing of […]

American Society of Cinematographers Awards Announced: ‘Silence’ Makes the Cut with ‘Moonlight’

The American Society of Cinematographers (or ASC) have announced their nominees where “Silence” has finally received some much deserved recognition for Rodrigo Prieto.  Some other notable and strong inclusions include James Laxton’s elegant work on “Moonlight” and Greig Fraser’s touch on “Lion.” Expected nominees Linus Sandrgen (“La La Land“) and Bradford Young (“Arrival“) rounded out […]

2017 USC Scripter Nominees: ‘Hidden Figures’ Muscles In Alongside ‘Moonlight’ and Others

The USC Scripter has announced their nominations: The finalist writers for film are, in alphabetical order by film title: Scriptcreenwriter Eric Heisserer for “Arrival,” adapted from the novella “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang August Wilson for the play and screenplay of “Fences” Screenwriters Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi for “Hidden Figures,” based on […]

BAFTA Nominations: No Love for Barry Jenkins or Denzel Washington

The BAFTA Nominations have been announced. Take them all in: BEST FILM ARRIVAL Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde, Aaron Ryder I, DANIEL BLAKE Rebecca O’Brien LA LA LAND Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt MANCHESTER BY THE SEA Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward, Kevin J. Walsh MOONLIGHT Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, […]

Cinema Audio Society Announces Nominations – Kevin O’Connell Moves Closer to Oscar Nod #21

The Cinema Audio Society announced their nominations today. Surprise inclusions were “Doctor Strange” from Marvel. Can 20-time Academy Award nominee Kevin O’Connell finally win for “Hacksaw Ridge” or will the power of the musical edge him out once again? Check out the nominations from the press release: MOTION PICTURE – LIVE ACTION Doctor Strange Production […]

Denver Film Critics Society Nominations: Doubling Down on the Aaron Taylor-Johnson Surge

The Denver Film Critics weighed in with their nominations with some surprising citations along the way. Their notables were in Supporting Actor where they have doubled down on the sudden surge for Aaron Taylor-Johnson in “Nocturnal Animals,” but he also came alongside Timothy Spall from “Denial” and John Goodman from “10 Cloverfield Lane.” Check out […]

Art Directors Guild Nominations – ‘Fences’ and ‘Hacksaw’ Cited, ‘Silence’ Misses Out

Awards Celebrate “Return to Hollywood” Feb. 11 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom There is a TIE in two categories resulting in six nominees respectively: PERIOD FILM and VARIETY, REALITY OR COMPETITION SERIES HOLLYWOOD, Jan. 5, 2017 – Nominees for the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) 21st Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards in […]

deadpool, PGA Awards nominations

WGA Awards Film Nominations Announced – ‘Deadpool’ Sneaks In Among the Usual Suspects

The Writers Guild of America announced its nominees in film today. The usual suspects – “La La Land,” “Moonlight” and “Manchester by the Sea” – all showed up. The big surprise of the day came by way of “Deadpool,” which snuck itself into the Adapted Screenplay category. The nod is just the latest for the film […]