Oscars: 20 Academy Award Contenders from the First Half of 2016

As we exist now in the second half of the year, studios and awards strategists are positioning their slates for the fall festivals and beyond.  As the Academy Awards make pivotal announcements towards inclusion and diversity, we’re looking back at the early months to see what films and performances are in contention for next year’s Oscars. […]


Ken Howard and JoBeth Williams to Announce Stunt Ensemble Honorees During SAG Awards Pre-Show

Can we get these guys on the big show?  It’s one more award and these men and women deserve a spotlight. Read the press release: LOS ANGELES (Jan. 18, 2016) — SAG-AFTRA President Ken Howard and SAG Awards® Committee Chair JoBeth Williams will announce the honorees for Outstanding Action Performances by Film and Television Stunt […]


SAG Nominees React to their Nominations Today!

With the SAG nominations being announced today, some of the newly minted contenders for the ACTOR are offering their reactions to learning the news.  Read them before EDDIE REDMAYNE / Lili Elbe – “THE DANISH GIRL” (Focus Features) – Nominee, Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role – SAG “It means a great deal […]


2014 Oscar Predictions – Quick Updates to the Major Categories

With the Golden Globe and Screen Actors Guild unveiling their nominations over the past two days, the race has taken a shape, many didn’t see happening.  Jean-Marc Vallee’s Dallas Buyers Club has risen considerably while actors like Barkhad Abdi and Daniel Bruhl have become the hands on favorite to be nominated in their respective categories.  Oprah Winfrey got a huge blow earlier today, […]


2014 Screen Actors Guild Nominations – Announced!

Announcement begins at 8:50 am ET. Include your predictions down below. ENSEMBLE 12 Years a Slave American Hustle August: Osage County Dallas Buyers Club Lee Daniels’ The Butler LEAD ACTOR Bruce Dern – Nebraska Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club Forest Whitaker – […]


SAG Awards® To Receive the Environmental Media Association’s 2013 EMA Green Production Award

The Environmental Media Association will bestow the honor of their Green Production Award to the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams during the 23rd Annual Environmental Media Awards on October 19, 2013. Here is the official press release from SAG: LOS ANGELES, (September 4, 2013) – The Environmental Media Association (EMA) has announced the Screen Actors […]


Rita Moreno To Receive The 2014 SAG Life Achievement Award

Academy Award winning actress Rita Moreno (Best Supporting Actress – West Side Story; 1961) is being honored with SAG-AFTRA’s highest honor, the SAG Life Achievement Award for Career Achievement and Humanitarian Accomplishment. This tribute will take place at the 20th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards on January 18, 2014. Moreno is one of 11 artists to have ever […]

The Unprecedented Nature of ‘Argo’

I was speaking with some of my writers recently about who and what could be winning Best Picture and the subject came up about Argo.  With Argo winning Best Picture and Director at the Critics Choice Movie Awards and Golden Globes, Ben Affleck’s film is in a position to make unprecedented history and I’m not […]

First SAG Presenters Announced – Jennifer Lawrence Included

The 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will take place  on  January 27th, but today the guild has announced several of their presenters. The list includes a few nominees (Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Hugh Jackman, and Anne Hathaway) along with other stars like Viola Davis, Justin Timberlake, and Sigourney Weaver.  Have a look at the […]

SAG Awards Ballots to Be Mailed

On Monday, Dec. 31, 2012, ballot instructions on how to choose recipients of the 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be mailed to SAG-AFTRA members. After the jump, have a look at the official release with details on how voters will proceed with selecting their winners from the nominees that were announced back on November 30th.