in , , ,

‘1917’ Takes Best Picture at 3rd Annual Hollywood Critics Association Awards

1917 image movie

The Hollywood Critics Association (HCA) awarded their winners recognizing the best of 2019 and end-of-decade specialty awards at the 3rd Annual Hollywood Critics Association Awards Ceremony on Thursday.

Topping the list is the award for Best Picture, which went to Sam Mendes‘ WWl epic, “1917.” The film recently took home the prize of Best Picture and Best Director at the 77th Golden Globes. The HCA recognized the film with four total wins in the night, which also feature Best Editing for Lee Smith, Best Action/War Film and Best Cinematography for Oscar winner Roger Deakins. The film’s wide release rollout might now see a spike in ticket sales after this celebratory week.

The smart first time feature from Olivia Wilde, “Booksmart” took home three awards from the HCA, including Best Female Director, Best Performance By An Actress 23 and Under for lead Kaitlyn Dever and a tie win for Best Comedy/Musical with “Rocketman.” “Booksmart” is also nominated for Best Original Screenplay from the Writers Guild of America.

The HCA awarded Joaquin Phoenix for Best Actor and Lupita Nyong’o for Best Actress. The supporting categories were awarded to Jennifer Lopez for “Hustlers” and Joe Pesci for “The Irishman.”

1917 image productiondesign

See the full list of winners below.

  • Best Picture – “1917″
  • Best Actor – Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker”
  • Best Actress – Lupita Nyong’o, “Us”
  • Best Supporting Actor – Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”
  • Best Supporting Actress – Jennifer Lopez, “Hustlers”
  • Best Adapted Screenplay – Taika Waititi, “Jojo Rabbit”
  • Best Original Screenplay – Han Jin-won and Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite”
  • Best Male Director – Noah Baumbach, “Marriage Story”
  • Best Female Director – Olivia Wilde, “Booksmart”
  • Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under – Noah Jupe, “Honey Boy”
  • Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under – Kaitlyn Dever, “Booksmart”
  • Breakthrough Performance Actor – Kelvin Harrison Jr., “Waves”
  • Breakthrough Performance Actress – Jessie Buckley, “Wild Rose”
  • Best Cast Ensemble – “Knives Out”
  • Best First Feature – “Honey Boy”
  • Best Independent Film (Tie) – “The Farewell” & “Waves”
  • Best Action/War Film – “1917”
  • Best Animated Film – “Toy Story 4”
  • Best Blockbuster – “Avengers: Endgame”
  • Best Comedy/Musical (Tie) – “Rocketman” & “Booksmart”
  • Best Documentary – “Apollo 11”
  • Best Foreign Language Film – “Parasite”
  • Best Horror – “Us”
  • Best Animated or VFX Performance – Rosa Salazar, “Alita: Battle Angel”
  • Best Cinematography – Roger Deakins, “1917”
  • Best Costume Design – Julian Day, “Rocketman”
  • Best Editing – Lee Smith, “1917”
  • Best Hair and Makeup – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, and Vivian Baker, “Bombshell”
  • Best Original Song – “Glasgow,” “Wild Rose”
  • Best Score – Hildur Guðnadóttir, “Joker”
  • Best Stunt Work – “John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum”
  • Best Visual Effects – Dan Deleeuw, Matt Aitken, Russell Earl, and Dan Sudick “Avengers: Endgame”

2020 Hollywood Critics Association Honorary Awards

  • Actor Achievement Award – Anton Yelchin (posthumously)
  • Filmmaker Achievement Award – Bong Joon Ho
  • Artisans Achievement Award – Ruth E. Carter
  • Game Changer Award – Paul Walter Hauser
  • Star on the Rise – Taylor Russell
  • Newcomer – Zack Gottsagen
  • Trailblazer – Olivia Wilde

End of a Decade Awards Recipients

  • Actor of the Decade – Adam Driver
  • Actress of the Decade – Kristen Stewart
  • Director of the Decade – Denis Villeneuve
  • Producer of the Decade – Daniela Taplin Lundberg
  • Next Generation of Hollywood – Kelvin Harrison Jr., Geraldine Viswanathan, Brooklynn Prince, Millicent Simmonds, Mckenna Grace, Jack Dylan Grazer, Thomasin McKenzie, Zoey Deutch, Noah Jupe, Kaitlyn Dever, Lana Condor, and Shahadi Wright Joseph

What do you think of the Hollywood Critics Association winners? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote
AC Fan

Written by Jessica Peña

Jessica Peña studied journalism at Volunteer State Community College before she began writing about film on a personal blog that sprouted from an electronic media course. She is now a film journalist for Awards Circuit, as well as a content editor and writer for the UK-based site JumpCut Online. She also loves the Child's Play/Chucky franchise with no end in sight.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Totally overrated movie IMO. Boring actually. I don’t need full on action but definitely don’t get all the hype about it.


parasite cannes 8

‘Parasite’ Crowned Best Film By Alliance of Women Film Journalists

the body remembers

‘The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open’ Wins Top Honorary Prize From Toronto Film Critics Association