Washington DC Film Critics Winners – Spotlight, Mad Max shine


Spotlight continues its strong showing with regional critics awards, taking at least its FOURTH Best Picture prize.  Its director, Tom McCarthy still hasn’t been crowned as a Best Director, but I’m loving the trend of awarding Spotlight Best Picture and giving George Miller a win in Best Director for his stellar work on Mad Max: Fury Road.  At what point do we need to start pencilling him into our Best Director predictions?  Leo takes yet another Best Actor prize, while Ronan continues her somewhat surprising steamroll of the Best Actress laurels.  Supporting Actor continues to be a big question mark, and Vikander nabs a Supporting Actress win for playing a robot instead of a painter (worth noting that the DC Critics nominated both Mara and Vikander in supporting for their roles in Carol and The Danish Girl respectively, but opted for the latter in a different performance).  Amy continues its populist climb to the Best Documentary Feature trophy with yet another victory.

The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association comprises 52 DC-VA-MD-based film critics from television, radio, print and the Internet. Voting was conducted from December 4-6, 2015.

Best Film:

Best Director:
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actor:
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)

Best Actress:
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

Best Supporting Actor:
Idris Elba (Beasts of No Nation)

Best Supporting Actress:
Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)

Best Acting Ensemble:

Best Youth Performance:
Jacob Tremblay (Room)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Emma Donoghue (Room)

Best Original Screenplay:
Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley (Original Story by Pete Docter and Ronnie Del Carmen) (Inside Out)

Best Animated Feature:
Inside Out

Best Documentary:

Best Foreign Language Film:
Son of Saul

Best Production Design:
Production Designer: Colin Gibson, Set Decorator: Lisa Thompson (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Cinematography:
Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC (The Revenant)

Best Editing:
Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Original Score:
Jóhann Jóhannsson (Sicario)