Circuit Madness Fan Vote for ’12 Seeds’ Announced – Supporting Actor Tournament Underway


We announced a few days ago, our kickoff to our annual Circuit Madness tournament.  It’s the place where all the readers vote on all the Oscar-winners in a given category.  We’ve attacked Best Picture, Best Actress, and Best Actor.  This year, we are moving into the Supporting Actor realm.

We seeded 60 of the 64 players that will compete in the tournament.  The 20 other Supporting Actor winners that were left, was just voted on by our esteemed readership.  We are here to announce those results and they are has follows:

Here were the twenty names that were up for voting:

  • Charles Coburn – “The More the Merrier”
  • Dean Jagger – “Twelve O’Clock High”
  • Donald Crisp – “How Green Was My Valley”
  • Ed Begley – “Sweet Bird of Youth”
  • Edmond O’Brien – “The Barefoot Contessa”
  • Edmund Gwenn – “Miracle on 34th Street”
  • Gig Young – “They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?”
  • Jack Albertson – “The Subject Was Roses”
  • James Dunn – “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”
  • John Houseman – “The Paper Chase”
  • John Mills – “Ryan’s Daughter”
  • Joseph Schildkraut – “The Life of Emile Zola”
  • Mark Rylance – “Bridge of Spies”
  • Martin Balsam – “A Thousand Clowns”
  • Peter Ustinov – “Topkapi”
  • Red Buttons – “Sayonara”
  • Van Heflin – “Johnny Eager”
  • Walter Breenan – “Come and Get It”
  • Walter Brennan – “Kentucky”
  • Walter Brennan – “The Westerner”

Here are the entries as voted on by you.  The top vote getter goes into Group 1, the next into Group 2, etc..

  1. Mark Rylance in “Bridge of Spies” (Group 1)
  2. Edmund Gwenn in “Miracle on 34th Street” (Group 2)
  3. Gig Young in “They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?” (Group 3)
  4. John Houseman in “The Paper Chase” (Group 4)

Voting opens tomorrow.  Look for it.  Results announced on Sunday’s episode of the Awards Circuit Power Hour podcast.

circuitmadness (2)