Alliance of Women Film Journalists Winners – ‘Moonlight’ and Ava DuVernay Honored

Ava DuVernay, The 13th

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists announced their best in film today. The group chose “Moonlight” for Best Picture, Director and Adapted Screenplay, among others.

Special awards went to Ava DuVernay and Kelly Reichardt for Best Woman Director and Best Woman Screenwriter, respectively.

See the full list of winners below.

Check out the Precursor Tracker on the Oscar Predictions page to see all the groups side by side!

Best Film: Moonlight
Best Director: Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Best Screenplay, Original: Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Best Screenplay, Adapted: Moonlight – Barry Jenkins
Best Documentary: 13th – Ava DuVernay
Best Animated Film: Zootopia – Byron Howard, Rich Moore, Jared Bush
Best Actress: Ruth Negga – Loving
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Viola Davis – Fences
Best Actor: Casey Affleck – Manchester By The Sea
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director: Moonlight – Yesi Ramirez
Best Cinematography: Moonlight – James Laxton
Best Editing: Moonlight – Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders
Best Non-English-Language Film: The Handmaiden – Park Chan-Wook, South Korea

EDA FEMALE FOCUS AWARDS (These awards honor WOMEN only.)

Best Woman Director: Ava DuVernay – 13th 
Best Woman Screenwriter: Kelly Reichardt – Certain Women 
Best Animated Female (tie):
Judy in Zootopia – Ginnifer Goodwin
Moana in Moana – Auli’i Cravalho
Best Breakthrough Performance: Ruth Negga – Loving
Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry:
Ava DuVernay – For 13th and raising awareness about the need for diversity and gender equality in Hollywood


Actress Defying Age and Ageism (tie):
Annette Bening – 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert – Elle and Things to Come
Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award: Rules Don’t Apply – Warren Beatty (b. 1937) and Lily Collins (b. 1989)
Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent: Jennifer Aniston – Mother’s Day and Office Christmas Party
Bravest Performance: Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Remake or Sequel That Shouldn’t have been Made: Ben Hur
AWFJ Hall of Shame Award: Sharon Maguire and Renee Zellwegger for Bridget Jones’s Baby

Tell us: What do you think of the choices from the Alliance of Women Film Journalists? Let us know in the comments below!