Awards Circuit Announces ACCA 2016 Winners

ACCA 2016

LA LA LAND takes field-leading 8 ACCA wins, including Best Picture and Best Director for Damien Chazelle.

NEW YORK (February 7, 2017) – Awards Circuit announced today its winners for the 2016 Awards Circuit Community Awards. The awards are voted on annually by Awards Circuit’s community of over 500,000 readers from all over the world.

Damien Chazelle’s modern musical “La La Land,” which previously broke the ACCA record for most nominations with 15 total citations, takes home the most prizes with eight total wins. The film nabbed the top honors of Best Picture and Best Director for Chazelle. Additionally, the film scored five runners-up nods, most notably in Best Actor (for Ryan Gosling), Best Actress (for Emma Stone) and Best Original Screenplay (for Chazelle).

Tied for second-most wins with two each is “Moonlight,” “Manchester by the Sea” and “Jackie.” Barry Jenkins’ film won Best Supporting Actor for Mahershala Ali and Best Ensemble. Kenneth Lonergan’s drama took Best Actor for Casey Affleck and Best Original Screenplay for Lonergan. Best Actress for Natalie Portman and Best Costume Design gave “Jackie” its wins.

Although it only won Best Adapted Screenplay for Eric Heisserer, “Arrival” won the most runners-up prizes with seven total mentions.

Click here to see the list of past winners and nominees of ACCA.

The full list of 2016 ACCA winners is below.

Best Picture

“La La Land”

  • Runner-up: “Moonlight”

Best Director

Damien Chazelle for “La La Land”

  • Runner-up: Denis Villeneuve for “Arrival”

Best Actor

Casey Affleck for “Manchester by the Sea”

  • Runner-up: Ryan Gosling for “La La Land”

Best Actress

Natalie Portman for “Jackie”

  • Runner-up: Emma Stone for “La La Land”

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali for “Moonlight”

  • Runner-up: Lucas Hedges for “Manchester by the Sea”

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis for “Fences”

  • Runner-up: Michelle Williams for “Manchester by the Sea”

Best Original Screenplay

Kenneth Lonergan for “Manchester by the Sea”

  • Runner-up: Damien Chazelle for “La La Land”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Eric Heisserer for “Arrival”

  • Runner-up: Barry Jenkins for “Moonlight”

Best Cast Ensemble


  • Runner-up: “Nocturnal Animals”

Best Animated Feature


  • Runner-up: “Kubo and the Two Strings”

Best Foreign Language

“Elle” from France

  • Runner-up: “The Handmaiden” from South Korea

Best Production Design

David Wasco for “La La Land”

  • Runners-up: Jess Gonchor for “Hail, Caesar!” and Patrice Vermette for “Arrival”

Best Original Score

Justin Hurwitz for “La La Land”

  • Runner-up: Jóhann Jóhannsson for “Arrival”

Best Cinematography

Linus Sandgren for “La La Land”

  • Runner-up: Bradford Young for “Arrival”

Best Costume Design

Madeline Fontaine for “Jackie”

  • Runner-up: Mary Zophres for “La La Land”

Best Film Editing

Tom Cross for “La La Land”

  • Runner-up: Joe Walker for “Arrival”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling


  • Runner-up: “Jackie”

Best Sound

“La La Land”

  • Runner-up: “Arrival”

Best Visual Effects

“The Jungle Book”

  • Runner-up: “Arrival”

Best Original Song

“City of Stars” from “La La Land”

  • Runner-up: “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from “La La Land”

Best Documentary Feature


  • Runner-up: “O.J.: Made in America”

Best Stunt Ensemble

“Hacksaw Ridge”

  • Runner-up: “Captain America: Civil War”



The Awards Circuit has been the premier entertainment and awards site since May 2008. It is owned and operated by Editor-in-Chief Clayton Davis. AC also staffs an eclectic group of writers, all from different walks of life, and all from different areas of the world.

Awards Circuit is committed to delivering unbiased news and awards coverage to both industry professionals and dedicated fans of film, television, music and theatre. Our diverse team of writers provide in-depth analysis of both American and international entertainment.


Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick-off to the awards season, the Critics’ Choice Awards. He’s also an active member of New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets, including The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film and The Hollywood Reporter.

# # #


Twitter: @AwardsCircuit




Hashtags: #AwardsCircuit, #ACCA, #ACCAFYC

# # #

Media Contact:

All Awards Circuit media inquiries may be directed to Clayton Davis at [email protected].