Whoopi Goldberg, Larry Karaszewski, and Kimberly Peirce Elected to Academy Board of Governors

Academy business continued this week after the invitation of a record breaking amount of new members. Yesterday, AMPAS announced a new Board of Governors, including ten first time members. That list includes Whoopi Goldberg, Larry Karaszewski, and Kimberly Peirce, among others. They’ll join a half dozen current members and one returning member to form the 2017-2018 Board of Governors. You can see the whole list below, and obviously it remains to be seen if this will lead to any noteworthy Academy changes. Time will tell there.

Here is the Press Release from the Academy:

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2017-18 Board of Governors.

Those elected to the Board for the first time are:

Whoopi Goldberg, Actors Branch
Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch
Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch
Wynn P. Thomas, Designers Branch
Kimberly Peirce, Directors Branch
David Linde, Executives Branch
Christina Kounelias, Public Relations Branch
Thomas R. Sito, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch
Larry Karaszewski, Writers Branch

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:

Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch
Kate Amend, Documentary Branch
Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch
Kathryn L. Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Charles Bernstein, Music Branch
Albert Berger, Producers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus is:

Richard Edlund, Visual Effects Branch

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

Thoughts on the new Board of Governors? Discuss in the comments or on the Message Board!