New York Film Critics Circle to Vote November 30, 2017

New York, NY – September 18, 2017 — The New York Film Critics Circle announced today they will vote for the 2017 awards on November 30, 2017 and hold its annual Gala Awards dinner on Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at Tao Downtown. After the annual meeting on October 20, the NYFCC will announce new members. Eric Kohn, Chief Film Critic/IndieWire, serves this year as Chairman of the NYFCC, Alison Willmore serves as Vice Chair and Marshall Fine continues as the group’s General Manager.

NYFCC Chairperson Eric Kohn stated, “As the oldest institution of its kind in America, the NYFCC represents much more than an awards season hype machine, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t excited about giving out some awards in a year loaded with so many possibilities. We’re looking forward to spirited debates — not only on our voting date but in the weeks leading up to it — as we make our way through the last few major fall season films, while looking back on the year as a whole. We also hope to welcome some new members and continue to expand our presence with events around town.”

Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the oldest and most prestigious in the country. The circle’s membership includes critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and the web’s most respected online publications. Every year the organization meets in New York to vote on awards for the calendar year’s films.

The Circle’s awards are often seen as shaping the Oscar race. The Circle’s awards are also viewed — perhaps more accurately — as a principled alternative to the Oscars, honoring aesthetic merit in a forum that is immune to commercial and political pressures.


Eric Kohn (Chair)
Alison Willmore (Vice Chair)
Marshall Fine (General Manager)
John Anderson
Melissa Anderson
The Village Voice
Michael Atkinson
The Village Voice
Richard Brody
The New Yorker
Dwight Brown
NNPA Syndication
Bilge Ebiri
The Village Voice
David Edelstein
New York Magazine
David Fear
Rolling Stone
Graham Fuller
Culture Trip
Owen Gleiberman
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
Rafer Guzman
Jordan Hoffman
The Guardian
Richard Lawson
Vanity Fair
Joe Morgenstern
The Wall Street Journal
Farran Smith Nehme
New York Post
Nick Pinkerton
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
Rex Reed
New York Observer
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out New York
Alan Scherstuhl
The Village Voice
Matt Zoller Seitz
Matt Singer
Kyle Smith
New York Post
Dana Stevens
Sara Stewart
New York Post
Amy Taubin
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
Keith Uhlich
Stephen Whitty
The Star-Ledger
Stephanie Zacharek
Time Magazine