DFF40: 40th Denver Film Festival Announces Award Winners

The results are in for the 40th Denver Film Festival (DFF40)! DFF40 just announced the winners of its annual People’s Choice Awards and Festival Juried Awards, honoring the likes of “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” “Hondros,” “Liyana,” “The Happiness of the World,” “AlphaGo,” and “Thirst Street.” Check out the full list of winners below.

People’s Choice Award Winners

  • Narrative Feature:
    Director: Martin McDonagh
  • Documentary Features (tie):
    Director: Greg Campbell

    Directors: Aaron Kopp and Amanda Kopp

  • Short Subject Film:
    Director: Abi Damaris Corbin
  • Music Video:
    “Polo & Pan – Coeur Croisé”
    Director: Pablo Maestres

True Grit Award


Directors: Aaron Kopp and Amanda Kopp

Special Mentions:

  • “The Outsider”

Director: Scot Takeda

  • “Hondros”

Director: Greg Campbell

Krzysztof Kieślowski Award for Best Narrative Feature Film

“The Happiness of the World”

Director: Michał Rosa

Special Mention:

  • “Under the Tree”

Director: Haffstein Gunnar Sigurðsson

Maysles Brothers Award for Best Documentary Feature Film


Director: Greg Kohs

Special Mention:

“Strad Style”

Director: Stefan Avalos

American Independent Award

“Thirst Street”

Director: Nathan Silver

Short Film Awards

  • Liberty Global Domestic Student Filmmaker Award:

“While I Was Gone”

Director: Daniel F. Pfeffer

  • Liberty Global International Student Filmmaker Award:


Directors: Bahram Ark and Baham Ark

  • Best Animated Short:


Director: Chintis Lundgren

  • Special Mention:

“The Burden”

Director: Niki Lindroth von Bahr

  • Best Documentary Short:

“Fish Story”

Director: Charlie Lyne

Project NEXT High School Student Awards

  • Best High School Short Subject Film:

“Jerry Simpson”

Director: Elleon Dobias

Valor Christian High School

  • High School Short Subject Viewer’s Choice Award

“Dear People”

Director: Irl Paulalengan

Rangeview High School

Awards Previously Given or Announced:

Rare Pearl Award:

Director: Greta Gerwig

Reel Social Club Indie Voice Award:

Director: Cory Finley

John Cassavetes Award: Kyra Sedgwick

Career Achievement Award: Aaron Sorkin

Stan Brakhage Vision Award: Robert Beavers

International Career Tribute Award: Jan Kidawa-Błoński

Any winners surprise you? Who will win big during awards season? Let us know in the comments below!