2018 Independent Spirit Award Nominations Announced! – ‘Call Me by Your Name’ Leads

Call Me byYour Name

Film Independent revealed their 2018 Independent Spirit Award Nominations on Tuesday morning. Lily Collins (“Okja”) and Tessa Thompson (“Thor: Ragnarok”) made the announcements live from the The Jeremy in West Hollywood.

The Independent Spirit Awards celebrate the best in American and international independent filmmaking.

This year, 40% of the nominees are filmmakers of color, and more than 400 films were considered for nominations. Luca Guadagnino’s “Call Me By Your Name” Leads with the most nominations, while A24 is the studio most represented.

Here is the full list of nominees:

(Award given to the producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

  • “Call Me by Your Name”
    Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman
  • “The Florida Project”
    Producers: Sean Baker, Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou
  • “Get Out”
    Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele
  • “Lady Bird”
    Producers: Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill, Scott Rudin
  • “The Rider”
    Producers: Mollye Asher, Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Chloé Zhao

(Award given to the director and producer)

  • “Columbus”
    Director: Kogonada
    Producers: Danielle Renfrew Behrens, Aaron Boyd, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Andrew Miano, Chris Weitz
  • “Ingrid Goes West”
    Director: Matt Spicer
    Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza, Tim White, Trevor White
  • “Menashe”
    Director/Producer: Joshua Z. Weinstein
    Producers: Yoni Brook, Traci Carlson, Daniel Finkelman, Alex Lipschultz
  • “Oh Lucy!”
    Director/Producer: Atsuko Hirayanagi
    Producers: Jessica Elbaum, Yukie Kito, Han West
  • “Patti Cake$”
    Director: Geremy Jasper
    Producers: Chris Columbus, Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Noah Stahl, Rodrigo Teixeira

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. (Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

  • “Dayveon”
    Writer/Director/Producer: Amman Abbasi
    Writer: Steven Reneau
    Producers: Lachion Buckingham, Alexander Uhlmann
  • “A Ghost Story”
    Writer/Director: David Lowery
    Producers: Adam Donaghey, Toby Halbrooks, James M. Johnston
  • “Life and nothing more”
    Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza
    Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, Pedro Hernández Santos
  • “Most Beautiful Island”
    Writer/Director/Producer: Ana Asensio
    Producers: Larry Fessenden, Noah Greenberg, Chadd Harbold, Jenn Wexler
  • “The Transfiguration”
    Writer/Director: Michael O’Shea
    Producer: Susan Leber


  • Sean Baker, “The Florida Project”
  • Jonas Carpignano, “A Ciambra”
  • Luca Guadagnino, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
  • Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, “Good Time”
  • Chloé Zhao, “The Rider”


  • Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”
  • Azazel Jacobs, “The Lovers”
  • Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
  • Mike White, “Beatriz at Dinner”


  • Kris Avedisian, “Donald Cried”
    Story By: Kyle Espeleta, Jesse Wakeman
  • Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, “The Big Sick”
  • Ingrid Jungermann, “Women Who Kill”
  • Kogonada, “Columbus”
  • David Branson Smith, Matt Spicer, “Ingrid Goes West”


  • Thimios Bakatakis, “The Killing of a Sacred Deer”
  • Elisha Christian, “Columbus”
  • Hélène Louvart, “Beach Rats”
  • Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Joshua James Richards, “The Rider”


  • Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie, “Good Time”
  • Walter Fasano, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Alex O’Flinn, “The Rider”
  • Gregory Plotkin, “Get Out”
  • Tatiana S. Riegel, “I, Tonya”


  • Salma Hayek, “Beatriz at Dinner”
  • Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”
  • Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”
  • Shinobu Terajima, “Oh Lucy!”
  • Regina Williams, “Life and nothing more”


  • Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Harris Dickinson, “Beach Rats”
  • James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
  • Robert Pattinson, “Good Time”


  • Holly Hunter, “The Big Sick”
  • Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
  • Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
  • Lois Smith, “Marjorie Prime”
  • Taliah Lennice Webster, “Good Time”


  • Nnamdi Asomugha, “Crown Heights”
  • Armie Hammer, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Barry Keoghan, “The Killing of a Sacred Deer”
  • Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Benny Safdie, “Good Time”

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast

  • “Mudbound”
    Director: Dee Rees
    Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram
    Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

  • “The Departure”
    Director/Producer: Lana Wilson
  • “Faces Places”
    Directors: Agnés Varda, JR
    Producer: Rosalie Varda
  • “Last Men in Aleppo”
    Director: Feras Fayyad
    Producers: Kareem Abeed, Søeren Steen Jespersen, Stefan Kloos
  • “Motherland”
    Director/Producer: Ramona S. Diaz
    Producer: Rey Cuerdo
  • “Quest”
    Director: Jonathan Olshefski
    Producer: Sabrina Schmidt Gordon

(Award given to the director)

  • “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”
    Director: Robin Campillo
  • “A Fantastic Woman”
    Director: Sebastián Lelio
  • “I Am Not a Witch”
    Director: Rungano Nyoni
  • “Lady Macbeth”
    Director: William Oldroyd
  • “Loveless”
    Director: Andrey Zvyagintsev

BONNIE AWARD – Bonnie Tiburzi Caputo joined American Airlines in 1973 at age 24, becoming the first female pilot to fly for a major U.S. airline. In her honor, the inaugural Bonnie Award will recognize a mid-career female director with a $50,000 unrestricted grant, sponsored by American Airlines.

  • So Yong Kim
  • Lynn Shelton
  • Chloé Zhao

JEEP TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 23rd annual Truer Than Fiction Award, funded by the Jeep brand, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by the Jeep brand.

  • Shevaun Mizrahi, Director of Distant Constellation
  • Jonathan Olshefski, Director of Quest
  • Jeff Unay, Director of The Cage Fighter

KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 24th annual Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.

  • Amman Abbasi, Director of Dayveon
  • Justin Chon, Director of Gook
  • Kevin Phillips, Director of Super Dark Times

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 21st annual Producers Award, funded by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

  • Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim
  • Ben LeClair
  • Summer Shelton

In addition, Visit Seattle will fund the Seattle Story Award, which is still open for nominations. The winning filmmaker will exhibit innovation, diversity and uniqueness of vision while having a history of transforming perspectives through rich stories. The recipient will receive a $25,000 cash grant to create a short film inspired by Seattle’s independent spirit. This film will premiere during the Spirit Awards broadcast.

The 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards will be broadcast exclusively on IFC Saturday, March 3 at 5:00PM ET / 2:00PM PT. Nick Kroll and John Mulaney will return to host for the second year.