ACCA 2017 Voting Opens, 7 Jury Members Selected for Lifetime Achievement and Innovation Awards


Awards Circuit announced today its selection of the 7 jury members for the 2017 Awards Circuit Community Awards.  The awards are voted on annually by Awards Circuit’s community of readers from all over the world.

The 7 Jury members are:

Guillermo Anaya – Guadalajara, Mexico
Alexandra German – Detroit, Michigan
Travis Larson – Milton, Wisconsin
Juan Carlos Ojano – Gen. Trias, Cavite, Philippines
Jasmine Tangcay – Los Angeles, California
Michael Walsh – Sydney, Australia
Bradley Weir – Cheltenham, United Kingdom

Over 1,000 submissions were received for the annual event, representing over 30 countries around the world.

Last year, the inaugural special awards were decided by the first 7 where they awarded renowned Sound Mixer Kevin O’Connell the Lifetime Achievement Award and Pablo Larrain, the director of “Jackie and “Neruda” the Johnny Alba Innovation Award.

While the jury members begin deliberation on this year’s recipients, the Awards Circuit readership now has the task of selecting the 2017 ACCA nominees.  Voting is now officially open for all selections.

Last year Damien Chazelle’s “La La Land” made history nabbing 15 total nominations, winning a total of 7 including Best Picture and Best Director. Other films that have been cited by the 750,000 Awards Circuit readership have been “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Birdman or (the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance),” “Gravity,” “Les Miserables,” “The Artist,” “The Social Network,” “Inglourious Basterds,” “The Dark Knight,” “No Country for Old Men,” “The Departed,” “Brokeback Mountain,” “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind,” “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King,” “Chicago,” “Moulin Rouge!,” “Requiem for a Dream,” “American Beauty,” “The Truman Show,” “L.A. Confidential,” “Fargo,” “Toy Story,” “Pulp Fiction,” “Philadelphia,” and “Aladdin.”

Voting is now open for ACCA 2017 and will remain open until Saturday, Jan. 20.