Awards Circuit Announces Roger Deakins and Jordan Peele as Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement and Johnny Alba Innovation Awards for ACCA 2017



New York, NY (January 26, 2018) For immediate release –  The Awards Circuit Community Awards (ACCA) announced today that fourteen time Oscar nominee Roger Deakins will receive the 2017 Awards Circuit Lifetime Achievement Award.

Jordan Peele who won the Critics Choice Award for Best Original Screenplay for his film, “Get Out” will receive the Johnny Alba Innovation Award.

Clayton Davis, Editor-in-Chief, and Owner of said, “Roger Deakins is a definitive staple in the history of cinema.  The brilliance and skill of his craft is a necessity for the medium and has offered dozens of directors an opportunity to deliver some of their most cherished works.  This is a fine selection by the Awards Circuit community and one that is long overdue.”

The Lifetime Achievement Awards is given to an individual whose dedication the film industry has made a lasting impact. Deakins whose work includes “Blade Runner 2049,” “Skyfall,” “Sicario” and “No Country For Old Men” has worked on over 77 films as a cinematographer and his contribution to film was recognized by the ACCA Jury.  Mr. Deakins has also been nominated 9 times by the Awards Circuit readership winning 3 times for “The Shawshank Redemption,” “Fargo,” and “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford.”

Jordan Peele was chosen to receive the Johnny Alba Innovation Award. The Johnny Alba Innovation Award is named after the founder of The Oscar Igloo, who inspired the creation and innovation of It is an award given to a person who made a significant impression on the film year.

Davis said, “Very few directors capture the cultural zeitgeist as the way that Jordan Peele did with his feature film debut “Get Out.”  Peele’s stunning imagery and rich characters tapped into something more than just the genre of horror.  It offered a snapshot of the psyche of the oppressed and powerful.  Showing the devastation and fright that plague the human condition, even when it’s presented against the backdrop of horror, comedy, and in full-fledged cinematic fashion.  We are very much looking forward to the future filmography of Mr. Peele and all the amazing stories he wants to tell.”

Jury President, Jasmine Tangcay said, “Honoring Deakins with the Lifetime Achievement Award is a no-brainer. Whether it’s his choice of shots or his camera movement, his body of work speaks for itself. The master of lighting takes a director’s vision and transforms it telling the story. After over forty years of contributing to cinematography, the ACCA Jury has honored an artist and cinematographer whose contribution to film is indelible.” Tangcay added, “Honoring Jordan Peele is the perfect recipient of the Johnny Alba Innovation Award. He dared to make a film that successfully challenged racism. “Get Out” is a masterpiece creation, a film that had us eating out of its hand. It was creepy and excellent and one of the best films of 2017.With everything he achieved through his innovative thinking, it’s only fitting the ACCA jury honor Peele with this award.”

Last year’s recipients of the Lifetime Achievement and Johnny Alba Innovation awards were Kevin O’Connell, renowned Sound Mixer who went on to win the Academy Award for “Hacksaw Ridge” and director Pablo Larrain, director of “Jackie” and “Neruda.”

With over 1,000 submissions from over 30 countries, the final jury was made up of 7 members from across the world to reflect the diversity of staff and readership of the site.

The 2017 Jury were the following participants:

  • Guillermo Anaya – Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Alexandra German – Detroit, Michigan
  • Travis Larson – Milton, Wisconsin – Vice Chair of Committee
  • Juan Carlos Ojano – Gen. Trias, Cavite, Philippines
  • Jasmine Tangcay – Los Angeles, California – Jury President
  • Michael Walsh – Sydney, Australia
  • Bradley Weir – Cheltenham, United Kingdom.


The Awards Circuit has been the premier entertainment and awards site since May 2008. It is owned and operated by Editor-in-Chief Clayton Davis. AC also staffs an eclectic group of writers, all from different walks of life, and all from different areas of the world.

Awards Circuit is committed to delivering unbiased news and awards coverage to both industry professionals and dedicated fans of film, television, music, and theatre. Our diverse team of writers provides in-depth analysis of both American and international entertainment.


Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick-off to the awards season, the Critics’ Choice Awards. He’s also an active member of New York Film Critics Online, African-American Film Critics Association, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets, including The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film and The Hollywood Reporter.