2019 AFI Top 10 Awards Announced: ‘Joker,’ ‘Knives Out,’ and ‘Little Women’ Make The Cut, Special Award Given To ‘Parasite’

Lakeith Stanfield

AFI Awards have announced their 2019 Honorees, marking their 20-year celebration, which they will be commemorating with an invitation-only luncheon.

AFI Motion Pictures of the Year

  • 1917” (Universal Pictures)
  • The Farewell” (A24)
  • The Irishman” (Netflix)
  • Jojo Rabbit” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • Joker” (Warner Bros.)
  • Knives Out” (Lionsgate)
  • Little Women” (Sony Pictures)
  • Marriage Story” (Netflix)
  • Once Upon a Time in…Hollywood” (Sony Pictures)
  • Richard Jewell” (Warner Bros.)


Notable omissions include “Ford v Ferrari” from James Mangold, “Bombshell” from Jay Roach, “A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood” from Marielle Heller.  It should be noted that “The Two Popes” from Fernando Meirelles was likely ineligible with its foreign production roots.

Getting some good boosts from this group was Todd Phillips’ “Joker,” following its shut out at NBR on Tuesday, Rian Johnson’s “Knives Out,” and Greta Gerwig’s “Little Women.” Clint Eastwood’s “Richard Jewell” gets another bump following two citations at NBR for Kathy Bates in Supporting Actress and star Paul Walter Hauser in Breakthrough. Perhaps this is beginning to catch on more?

Down below are the Top 10 Television Programs of the Year.

AFI Television Programs of the Year

  • “Chernobyl” (HBO)
  • “The Crown” (Netflix)
  • “Fosse/Verdon” (FX)
  • “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
  • “Pose” (FX)
  • “Succession” (HBO)
  • “Unbelievable” (Netflix)
  • “Veep” (HBO)
  • “Watchmen” (HBO)
  • “When They See Us” (Netflix)

Special Award: “Fleabag” (Prime Video)

AFI Awards selections are made through a jury process where AFI Trustees, scholars, artists, and critics determine the year’s most outstanding achievements.

This year’s juries – one for film and one for television – featured acclaimed artists such as Emmy-nominated actor John Amos, Emmy-nominated director Lesli Linka, film historian Leonard Maltin, and more.

Honorees will gather on Jan. 3, 2020 for their recognitions.

About the American Film Institute
The American Film Institute was established by presidential proclamation in the White House Rose Garden and launched its national mandate on June 5, 1967 — to preserve the heritage of the motion picture, to honor the artists and their work and to educate the next generation of storytellers. AFI’s founding Trustees included Chairman Gregory Peck, Vice Chairman Sidney Poitier, Francis Ford Coppola, Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., Jack Valenti and George Stevens, Jr., as Director