in ,

2019 Independent Spirit Award Nominations – Big Day for ‘If Beale Street Could Talk,’ ‘Eighth Grade,’ and ‘First Reformed’

if beale street could talk

We’re getting underway with one our first true precursors of the season. It’s time for us to check in with the Film Independent to check out the best of low budget filmmaking in America. The Independent Spirit Awards reward the best films of the year that had a budget under $20 million. That excludes some Oscar contenders, including “Black Panther,” “A Star Is Born,” and “First Man” from consideration. Another important factor to keep in mind is the Robert Altman award, which is awarded to an Ensemble for their collective work. However, it removes the entire cast from competing in the acting categories. The film that wins the Altman Award is still eligible in craft categories, as well as director and picture.

With all that said, here are the nominees for the 2019 Independent Spirit Awards.

Best Feature
  • “Eighth Grade”
  • “First Reformed”
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • “Leave No Trace”
  • “You Were Never Really Here”
Best Director
  • Debra Granik, “Leave No Trace”
  • Barry Jenkins, “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • Tamara Jenkins, “Private Life”
  • Lynne Ramsay, “You Were Never Really Here”
  • Paul Schrader, “First Reformed”
Best First Feature
  • “Hereditary”
  • “Sorry to Bother You”
  • “The Tale”
  • “We the Animals”
  • “Wildlife”
Best Female Lead
  • Glenn Close, “The Wife”
  • Toni Collette, “Hereditary”
  • Elsie Fisher, “Eighth Grade”
  • Regina Hall, “Support the Girls”
  • Helena Howard, “Madeline’s Madeline”
  • Carey Mulligan, “Wildlife”
first reformed publicity h 2017Best Male Lead
  • John Cho, “Searching”
  • Daveed Diggs, “Blindspotting”
  • Ethan Hawke, “First Reformed”
  • Christian Malheiros, “Socrates”
  • Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”
Best Supporting Female
  • Kayli Carter, “Private Life”
  • Tyne Daly, “A Bread Factory”
  • Regina King, “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • Thomasin McKenzie, “Leave No Trace”
  • J. Smith-Cameron, “Nancy”
Best Supporting Male
  • Raul Castillo, “We the Animals”
  • Adam Driver, “BlackKklansman”
  • Richard E. Grant, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”
  • Josh Hamilton, “Eighth Grade”
  • John David Washington, “Monsters and Men”
Best Screenplay
  • “Can You Ever Forgive Me?” (Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty)
  • “Colette” (Rebecca Lenkiewicz, Wash Westmoreland)
  • “First Reformed” (Paul Schrader)
  • “Private Life” (Tamara Jenkins)
  • “Sorry to Bother You” (Boots Riley)
Elsie Fisher Eighth GradeBest First Screenplay
  • Bo Burnham, “Eighth Grade”
  • Christina Choe, “Nancy”
  • Cory Finley, “Thoroughbreds”
  • Jennifer Fox, “The Tale”
  • Quinn Shephard and Laurie Shephard, “Blame”
Best Cinematography
  • “Madeline’s Madeline” (Ashley Connor)
  • “Mandy” (Benjamin Loeb)
  • “Suspiria” (Sayombhu Mukdeeprom)
  • “We the Animals” (Zak Mulligan)
  • “Wildlife” (Diego Garcia)
Best Editing
  • “American Animals” (Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill, Julian Hart)
  • “Mid90s” (Nick Houy)
  • “The Tale” (Anne Fabini, Alex Hall, Gary Levy)
  • “We the Animals” (Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar)
  • “You Were Never Really Here” (Joe Bini)
John Cassavetes Award
  • “A Bread Factory”
  • “En El Septimo Dia”
  • “Never Goin’ Back”
  • “Socrates”
  • “Thunder Road”
Robert Altman Award
  • “Suspiria”
Best Documentary
  • “Hale County This Morning, This Evening”
  • “Minding the Gap”
  • “Of Fathers and Sons”
  • “On Her Shoulders”
  • “Shirkers”
  • “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”
Best International Film
  • “Burning” (South Korea)
  • “The Favourite” (United Kingdom)
  • “Happy As Lazarro” (Italy)
  • “Roma” (Mexico)
  • “Shoplifters” (Japan)
Piaget Producers Award
  • Jonathan Duffy & Kelly Williams
  • Gabrielle Nadig
  • Shrihari Sathe
Annual Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award
  • Alex Moratto, “Socrates”
  • Ioana Uricaru, “Lemonade”
  • Jeremiah Zagar, “We the Animals”
Truer Than Fiction Award
  • Alexandria Bombach, “On Her Shoulders”
  • Bing Liu, “Minding the Gap”
  • RaMell Ross, “Hale County This Morning, This Evening”
Annual Bonnie Award
  • Debra Granik
  • Tamara Jenkins
  • Karyn Kusama

What do you think of this year’s Indie Spirit Nominations? Which are your favorites nominations? Let us know in the comments below! 

The 2019 Independent Spirit Awards occurs on Feb. 23, 2019. They will air on IFC. 

Be sure to check out the Official Oscar Predictions Page to see our rankings of this year’s contenders!

Circuit Hub

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote
AC Fan

Written by Alan French

Alan French is a movie buff, a TV lover, and a sports fanatic. His favorite TV shows are 'Parks and Recreation,' 'Rick and Morty' and 'Game of Thrones.' He's also a Spielberg fanatic. You can find him on Twitter and Medium @TheAlanFrench.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Joshua Black

kathryn Hahn, c’mon now

Michael R

I am starting to think Melissa McCarthy is not getting nominated for CYEFM?


William Goldman 3

William Goldman, Screenwriter of ‘All the President’s Men,’ ‘Princess Bride’ and More, Passes at 87

widows main

Genre Geeks: Five Ways ‘Widows’ Defies the Conventional Heist Movie