ASC Nominations Announced- ‘Roma’ and ‘Cold War’ Among the Contenders

The American Society Of Cinematographers, also known as the ASC, is the latest guild to announce their yearly nominees. They may honor the craft of constructing color and lighting. However, they’ve also recognized the best in black and white this year. That’s because “Roma” and “Cold War” received nominations in the Theatrical Release category.

“Roma” making it in was a given. But “Cold War” making the cut makes it a more formidable contender. Also, DP Lukasz Zal, who’s a previous Oscar nominee for “Ida,” will have an opportunity at a second bid.

As for snubs, there were some big ones. For instance, James Laxton for “If Beale Street Could Talk” was a shocker. Also, Rachel Morrison, who achieved a historic Oscar nomination last year, missed the cut for “Black Panther.”

2018 American Society Of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards Nominations:

Theatrical Release:
  • Alfonso Cuarón, “Roma”
  • Matthew Libatique, ASC, “A Star is Born”
  • Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC,  “The Favourite”
  • Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF,  “First Man”
  • Łukasz Żal, PSC, “Cold War”
Spotlight Award:
  • Joshua James Richards, “The Rider”
  • Giorgi Shvelidze, “Namme”
  • Frank van den Eeden, NSC, SBC, “Girl”
Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television:
  • Gonzalo Amat for “The Man in the High Castle”, “Jahr Null”
  • Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for “The Crown,” “Beryl”
  • David Klein, ASC for “Homeland,” “Paean to the People”
  • Colin Watkinson, ASC for “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “The Word”
  • Cathal Watters, ISC for “Peaky Blinders,” “The Company”
  • Zoë White, ACS for “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Holly”
Episode of a Series for Commercial Television:
  • Nathaniel Goodman, ASC for “Timeless,” “The King of the Delta Blues”
  • Jon Joffin, ASC for “Beyond,” “Two Zero One”
  • Ben Richardson for “Yellowstone,” “Daybreak”
  • David Stockton, ASC for “Gotham,” “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight”
  • Thomas Yatsko, ASC for “Damnation,” “A Different Species”
Motion Picture, Miniseries or Pilot Made for Television:
  • James Friend, BSC for “Patrick Melrose,” “Bad News”
  • Mathias Herndl, AAC for “Genius: Picasso,” “Chapter 1”
  • Florian Hoffmeister, BSC for “The Terror,” “Go for Broke”
  • M. David Mullen, ASC for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (pilot)
  • Brendan Steacy, CSC for “Alias Grace,” “Part 1”

What do you think of this set of nominees? Any snubs you were upset over? Please share your thoughts in the comments section!

Winners will be announced on Feb. 9.

Be sure to check out our Official Oscar Predictions Page to see where this year’s films and performances rank among the contenders!