‘Cold War’ Takes Top Honor at ASC Awards


The American Society of Cinematographers had their annual awards ceremony last night. In a rather surprise turn of events, they bestowed Lukasz Zal’s work on “Cold War” with their top honor. Instead of Alfonso Cuaron’s work on “Roma,” they went with another foreign film in black and white. Going into Oscar night, it’s a likely battle between those two for Best Cinematography. Plus, the Foreign Language Film category might be even more of a battle than it appears.

During the ceremony, three time Oscar winner Robert Richardson received the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. His longtime collaborator, Quentin Tarantino, presented him with the honor. Also, Lukasz Zal wasn’t able to accept his award in person. However, his camera operator accepted the award on his behalf.

Meanwhile, Giorgi Shvelidze’s work on “Namme” won him the ASC Spotlight Award. Plus, Adriano Goldman won for “The Crown” in Best Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television. As a result, it is his second win in a row.

Check out the full list of winners and nominees below:

2019 American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards:

Theatrical Release:
  • Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma”
  • Matthew Libatique, ASC, “A Star Is Born”
  • Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC, “The Favourite”
  • Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF, “First Man”
  • Lukasz Zal, PSC, “Cold War”
  • Joshua James Richards, “The Rider”
  • Giorgi Shvelidze, “Namme”
  • Frank van der Eeden, NSC, SBC, “Girl”
Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television:
  • Gonzalo Amat, “The Man in the High Castle,” “Jahr Null”
  • Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, “The Crown,” “Beryl” 
  • David Klein, ASC, “Homeland,” “Paean to the People”
  • Colin Watkinson, ASC, “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “The Word”
  • Cathal Watters, ISC, “Peaky Blinders,” “The Company”
  • Zoe White, ASC, “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Holly”
Episode of a Series for Commercial Television:
  • Nathaniel Goodman, ASC, “Timeless,” “The King of the Delta Blues”
  • Jon Joffin, ASC, “Beyond,” “Two Zero One”
  • Ben Richardson, “Yellowstone,” “Daybreak”
  • David Stockton, ASC, “Gotham,” “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes The Knight”
  • Thomas Yatsko, ASC, “Damnation,” “A Different Species”
Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television:
  • James Friend, BSC, “Patrick Melrose,” “Bad News”
  • Mathias Herndl, AAC, “Genius: Picasso,” “Chapter 1”
  • Florian Hoffmeister, BSC, “The Terror,” “Go For Broke”
  • M. David Mullen, ASC, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Pilot”
  • Brendan Steacy, CSC, “Alias Grace,” “Part 1”

What do you think of this set of winners? Please share your thoughts in the comments section!

Check out our Oscar Predictions to see where your favorite films rank- All in THE CIRCUIT HUB