AMPAS Confirms Future Oscar Dates and Welcomes 2019-20 Board of Governors

Mandatory Credit: Photo by Broadimage/REX/Shutterstock (5600246b) 2016 Oscars, Atmosphere 88th Annual Academy Awards, Arrivals, Los Angeles, America - 28 Feb 2016 88th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced its confirmed date slots for the 2020, 2021 and 2020 Oscars. They also revealed the newly elected Board of Governors, all of whom will take their positions July 1. Below are those updates.

92nd Oscars – Sunday, February 9, 2020
93rd Oscars – Sunday, February 28, 2021
94th Oscars – Sunday, February 27, 2022

From the press release:

“Timing of the 2022 Olympics, the Super Bowl and national holidays will keep the 2021 and 2022 dates on the last Sunday in February,” the Academy said in a statement. “The Academy and ABC continue to evaluate dates for future years.”

Academy key dates for the 2019/2020 awards season are:

Governors Awards – Sunday, October 27, 2019
Preliminary Voting Begins – Friday, December 6, 2019
Preliminary Voting Ends – Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Nominations Voting Begins – Thursday, January 2, 2020
Nominations Voting Ends – Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Oscar Nominations Announcement – Monday, January 13, 2020
Oscar Nominees Luncheon – Monday, January 27, 2020
Finals Voting Begins – Thursday, January 30, 2020
Finals Voting Ends – Tuesday, February 4, 2020
92nd Oscars – Sunday, February 9, 2020

The Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards have moved to June 2020. Scientific and Technical Awards are given for technologies developed over a period of time and are not specific to a single awards year. Key dates are as follows:

Submissions open – Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Submission deadline – Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Similar technology open – Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Similar technology deadline – Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Awards presentation – Saturday, June 20, 2020

Below are the  Academy’s newly elected Board of Governors. They are allowed to serve on the board for up to three consecutive three-year terms.

Ellen Kuras, Cinematographers Branch
Ruth Elaine Carter, Costume Designers Branch
Donna Gigliotti, Executives Branch
Howard Berger, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Jennifer Yuh Nelson, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
Eric Roth, Writers Branch

Members re-elected to the Board:

Laura Dern, Actors Branch
David Rubin, Casting Directors Branch
Steven Spielberg, Directors Branch
Roger Ross Williams, Documentary Branch
Nancy Utley, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
Laura Karpman, Music Branch
Mark Johnson, Producers Branch
Jan Pascale, Production Design Branch
Kevin Collier, Sound Branch
Craig Barron, Visual Effects Branch

The 92nd Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 9, 2020, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood. The awards ceremony will be televised live on the ABC Television Network. The Oscars will also be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

What do you make of these confirmed key dates by The Academy? What are your thoughts on the newly appointed Board of Governors? Sound off in the comments below!