Venice Film Festival Lineup Announced: ‘Ad Astra’, ‘Marriage Story’, and ‘Joker’ Among Big Debuts for Awards Season

This the season to be Oscars and the 2019 Venice Film Festival has weighed in with their own robust and impressive slate of films that will be screening in August.  Just days after the Toronto International Film Festival released their huge slate, the 76-year-old Italian festival will be the launching pad for awards contenders that include “Marriage Story” from Noah Baumbach, “Ad Astra” from James Gray, “The Laundromat” from Steven Soderberg, and more.

The “In-Competition” selections have an eclectic mix of genres and prestige stars and directors.  21 films in total make up the slate that will include the four aforementioned films, and big projects from Pablo Larraín (“Ema“), Olivier Assayas (“Wasp Network“), Atom Egoyan (“Guest of Honor“), Todd Phillips (“Joker“), Roman Polanski (“An Officer and a Spy“), and Kore-eda Hirokazu (“The Truth“), whose film is the festival opener.

Other movies will screen “Out of Competition” and some of those include “The King” from David Michôd, and starring Academy Award nominee Timothée Chalamet, and “Seberg” from Benedict Andrews, and starring Kristen Stewart, Margaret Qualley, and Anthony Mackie.

The festival will close with Giuseppe Capotondi’s “The Burnt Orange Heresy” starring Elizabeth Debicki and Donald Sutherland.

As announced earlier this year, Lucrecia Martel, Argentinian director, will be the president of the jury this year, while Academy Award winners Pedro Almodóvar and Julie Andrews will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards.  Martel is the seventh woman to hold the president position in the history of the festival.  She’s most known for directing last year’s critical hit “Zama.”

The Venice Film Festival takes place from Aug. 28 until Sept. 7.

The full festival lineup is listed below:

Opening Film
“The Truth,” Hirokazu Kore-eda (in competition)

Closing Film
“The Burnt Orange Heresy,” Giuseppe Capotondi (out of competition)

“The Perfect Candidate,” Haifaa Al-Mansour
“About Endlessness,” Roy Andersson
“Wasp Network,” Olivier Assayas
“Marriage Story,” Noah Baumbach
“Guest of Honor, Atom Egoyan
“Ad Astra,” James Gray
“A Herdade,” Tiago Guedes
“Gloria Mundi,” Robert Guediguian
“Waiting for the Barbarians,” Ciro Guerra
“Ema,” Pablo Larrain
“Saturday Fiction,” Lou Ye
“Martin Eden,” Pietro Marcello
“The Mafia Is No Longer What It Used to Be,” Franco Maresco
“The Painted Bird,” Vaclav Marhoul
“The Mayor of the Rione Sanità,” Mario Martone
“Babyteeth,” Shannon Murphy
“Joker,” Todd Phillips
“An Officer and a Spy,” Roman Polanski
“The Laundromat,” Steven Soderbergh
“No. 7 Cherry Lane,” Yonfan

Special Event
“Goodbye, Dragon Inn,” Tsai Ming-Liang

Out of Competition – Fiction
“Seberg,” Benedict Andrews
“Vivere,” Francesca Archibugi
“Mosul,” Matthew Michael Carnahan
“Adults in the Room,” Costa-Gavras
“The King,” David Michod
“Tutto Il Mio Folle Amore,” Gabriele Salvatores

Out of Competition – Non Fiction
“Woman,” Yann Arthus-Bertrand, Anastasia Mikova
“Roger Waters Us + Them,” Sean Evans, Roger Waters
“I Diari Di Angela – Noi Due Cineasti. Capitolo Secondo,” Yervant Gianikian
“Citizen K,” Alex Gibney
“Citizen Rosi,” Didi Gnocchi, Carolina Rosi
“The Kingmaker,” Lauren Greenfield
“State Funeral,” Sergei Loznitsa
“Collective,” Alexander Nanau
“45 Seconds of Laughter,” Tim Robbins

Out of Competition – Special Screenings
“No One left Behind,” Guillermo Arriaga
“Il Pianeta in Mare,” Andrea Segre
“Electric Swan,” Konstantina Kotzamani
“Irreversible,” Gaspar Noe”
“Zerozerozero,” Stefano Sollima
“The New Pope,” Paolo Sorrentino
“Never Just a Dream: Stanley Kubrick and Eyes Wide Shut,” Matt Wells
“Eyes Wide Shut,” Stanley Kubrick