David Rubin Elected Film Academy President

David Ruben (Credit: George Pimentel /FilmMagic)

David Rubin, a veteran casting director of the industry, was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) Tuesday night by the organization’s Board of Governors. Rubin is succeeding John Bailey, who has termed out of his four-year presidency.

As reported by The Hollywood Reporter, Rubin was nominated for the spot by a fellow board of governor’s member. In 2013, Rubin was elected as one of the first standing members of the newly formed casting directors’ branch. Since then, he has been re-elected in 2016 and 2019. He was elected to represent as the branch’s secretary in 2016, and was re-elected for the position twice more in 2017 and 2018.

Rubin is a two-time Emmy winner, garnering his awards for his casting work on “Game Change” and HBO’s “Big Little Lies.” Taking office he will be the first casting director to be appointed president of the film academy branch. He begins his first term as president and his seventh year as a Governor representing the Casting Directors branch.

Rubin’s casting credits in film include “The English Patient,” “Men in Black,” “Hairspray,” “Lars and the Real Girl,” “The Talented Mr. Ripley,” “Four Weddings and a Funeral,” “Get Shorty,” “My Best Friend’s Wedding,” “William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet” and “Fried Green Tomatoes.” Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

Others elected for officer positions by the board are:

  • Lois Burwell, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)
  • Sid Ganis, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)
  • Larry Karaszewski, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
  • Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
  • Mark Johnson, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
  • Bonnie Arnold, Secretary (chair, Membership and Governance Committee)

Burwell, Ganis, Karaszewski and Utley were re-elected to their posts. This will be the first officer stint for Arnold and Johnson.

What do you think of new Film Academy President David Rubin? Comment below!