Atlanta Film Critics Circle Goes Big for ‘Parasite’


The Atlanta Film Critics Circle has announced the winners for their 2019 awards, with Bong Joon-ho’s world-wide phenomenon, “Parasite” taking prizes as one of their Top 10 films, along with awards for Directing, Screenplay, and International Film.

The 28 members of the AFCC also celebrated Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon a Time…In Hollywood,” Martin Scorsese’s “The Irishman,” Noah Baumbach’s “Marriage Story,” and Sam Mendes’ war epic, “1917.”

Kelvin Harrison Jr, who wowed cinephiles this year with his work in both “Luce” and “Waves,” was recognized for his Breakthrough Performances. And Olivia Wilde earned accolades for her First Feature, “Booksmart.”

Here is the complete list of winners, including their top 10 films of the year:

Top 10 Films

  • Parasite
  • The Irishman
  • Marriage Story
  • Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
  • 1917
  • Little Women
  • Uncut Gems
  • Knives Out
  • Pain and Glory
  • Apollo 11

Best Lead Actor: Adam Driver in “Marriage Story”

Best Lead Actress: Renee Zellweger in “Judy”

Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt in “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern in “Marriage Story”

Best Ensemble: “The Irishman”

Best Director: Bong Joon-ho for “Parasite”

Best Screenplay: Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin Woo for “Parasite”

Best Documentary: “Apollo 11”

Best International Film: “Parasite” (South Korea)

Best Animated Film: “Toy Story 4”

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins for “1917”

Best Original Score: Thomas Newman for “1917”

Best Breakthrough Performance: Kelvin Harrison Jr. for “Luce” and “Waves”

Best First Feature Film: Olivia Wilde for “Booksmart”

Last year’s big winners from the AFCC included “The Favourite,” Ethan Hawke in “First Reformed,” and “Roma.” The previous year, AFCC rewarded “The Florida Project,” “The Shape of Water,” and “Call Me by Your Name.”

This is the first of many regional critics groups to announce their winners. There will be many more in the weeks to come.

What are some of your favorite wins from AFCC? Comment below and share your thoughts!