27th Hamptons International Film Festival Announces Jury and Special Prizes


The 27th Hamptons International Film Festival comes to a close today, and with it comes the announcement of awards and prizes.

The slate of exceptional films ranged from big budget spectatulars like “The Aeronauts” to locally made films, such as “The Artist’s Wife.”

David Nugent, Artist Director said:

“As we close out the 27th edition of the festival, we are thrilled to announce this year’s
awardees. We are in awe of these films and the talented filmmakers behind each of them. This year brought an abundance of captivating films with wide ranging topics and engaging conversations.”

Anne Chaisson, HamptonsFilm Executive Director added:

“We are proud of all the incredible premieres, screenings and events over the past five days for the 27th Hamptons International Film Festival. We are thankful to all of the filmmakers for sharing their extraordinary films and talents with our audience, and also wish to extend sincere gratitude to our staff, sponsors and film loving community, without whom the festival would not be possible.”

The Award for Best Narrative Feature was presented to “A White, White Day,” by Hlynur Pálmason. The Best Documentary Feature was “Overseas,” directed by Sung-a Yoon. In the short categories, Sandrine Brodeur-Desrosiers’ “Just Me and You” won the narrative category, while Bassam Tariq’s “Ghosts of Sugar Land” takes home the documentary prize. HIFF is an Academy Award-qualifying festival, so both short films now qualify for consideration.

Atlantics HIFF

Miguel Ioann Littin Menz received a Special Cinematography Award for his work on “The Vast of Night,” and Anke Blondé’s “The Best of Dorien B.”  received a Breakthrough Achievement in Filmmaking Award.

There were special Jury mentions for several performers: Ída Mekkín Hlynsdóttir, “A White, White Day;” Mama Sane in “Atlantics”; Corinna Harfouch in “Lara”; Kim
Snauwaert in “The Best of Dorien B.”; and Sierra McCormick in “The Vast of Night.”

Additional Special Jury Prizes went to Alla Kovgan’s “Cunningham” for Artistic Vision; Suhaib Gasmelbari’s “Talking About Trees” for Indomitable Spirit of Storytelling; Lasse Linder’s “All Cats Are Grey in the Dark” for Originality; and Alexander A. Mora’s “The Nightcrawlers” for Creative Filmmaking.

The Audience Awards will be announced Tuesday, following Monday night’s closing screening of “Waves.” The rest of the prizes are as follows:

FOR SAMA, directed by Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts, was awarded the 2019
Brizzolara Family Foundation Award to Films of Conflict and Resolution, which is accompaniedby a $5,000 cash prize.

THE ARTIST’S WIFE, directed by Tom Dolby, was awarded the Suffolk County Next Exposure Grant. This program supports the completion of high quality, original, director-driven, low-budget independent films from both emerging and established filmmakers who have completed 50% of principal photography within Suffolk County. The film was awarded a $3,000 grant.

WATSON, directed by Lesley Chilcott, was awarded the Zelda Penzel Giving Voice to the
Voiceless Award. This award is presented to a film that raises public awareness about
contemporary social issues, including the moral and ethical treatment and the rights of animals as well as environmental protection. The film was awarded $2,500.

CONSCIENCE POINT was presented with the Victor Rabinowitz & Joanne Grant Award for
Social Justice. The film is directed by Treva Wurmfeld. The annual award is handed to a film that exemplifies the values of peace, equality, global justice and civil liberties, and is named after iconic civil rights lawyer Victor Rabinowitz and his wife Joanne Grant, an author, filmmaker and journalist. The award, which is accompanied by a cash prize of $2,000, is named in honor of two people who spent their entire lives fighting for those values.

The festival also announced the recipients of the University Film Awards, short films highlighting the extraordinary talent and achievements of five exceptional students. Each will receive a $500 cash prize. Awardees include BIRCH, directed by Paisley Valentine Walsh (London Film School); THE BOXERS OF BRULE, directed by Jessie Adler (School of Visual Arts); FINE, directed by Maya Yadlin (“Minshar For Art” Film School); PERFECT MOMENT, directed by Matthew Noydens (Luca School of Arts in Brussels); and THE UNITED STATES OF PARANOIA OR: HOW I STAYED ON THE LINE TO REPAIR MY AIR CONDITIONER, directed by Rashan Castro (Feirstein Graduate School of Cinema at Brooklyn College).

As previously announced, legendary director Brian De Palma was honored with the Lifetime
Achievement Award, presented by HIFF Co-Chairman Alec Baldwin at the festival, and artist and HIFF co-founder and founding Chairman of the Board Toni Ross was honored with the Dick Cavett Artistic Champion Award on opening night by Baldwin and additional HIFF Co-Chairman Randy Mastro. 2019 Breakthrough Artists included Aldis Hodge (CLEMENCY), Camila Morrone (MICKEY AND THE BEAR), and Lulu Wang (THE FAREWELL).