in , ,

30th Annual IFP Gotham Awards Announces Awards Date

Gotham Invite Draft 9

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) announced today that the 30th Annual IFP Gotham Awards will take place on Monday, Nov. 30, 2020.

Along with the awards date announcement, the deadline for submissions for the competitive categories has also been dated for Thursday, Sept. 17.

The competitive categories are: Best Feature, Best Documentary, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Screenplay, Breakthrough Actor, the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award, and two television categories – Breakthrough Series (over 40 minutes) and Breakthrough Series (under 40 minutes).

Nominations are slated to be announced later this year on Thursday, Oct. 22 with the winners being honored at Cipriani Wall Street on Nov. 30.

Due to the early ceremony date, the Gothams are one of the key launching pads for independent films and performances of the year. Last year, Noah Baumbach’s “Marriage Story” from Netflix won four awards including Best Feature, Best Actor (Adam Driver), Best Screenplay, and the Audience Award, which all translated to Oscar nominations.

Netflix’s “American Factory” won the Documentary prize, which not only translated to an Academy Award nomination but winning the prize this past February.

For more information on the full criteria and the online application submission, visit:

Do you look forward to the IFP Gotham Awards every year? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Join the discussion. Share your comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


the invisible man main

Film Review: ‘The Invisible Man’ Reveals Darker Sides of a Classic Monster


Emmy Winner Rachel Brosnahan to Star in ‘Distant’ Alongside Anthony Ramos