Academy Idol Top 13 Voting Open! Directors Week is the Theme!


idol9The Academy Idol Top 13 finalists were announced on the last episode of the Awards Circuit Power Hour podcast based on the votes of the entire readership.  It’s time to turn your attention to voting once again for your favorites to stay in the competition.  The theme for this week is: Directors.

The thirteen finalists are: Lenny Abrahmson’s “Room,” Tom McCarthy’s “Spotlight,” John Crowley’s “Brooklyn,” Pete Docter’s “Inside Out,” Paul Feig’s “Spy,” Alex Garland’s “Ex Machina,” Todd Haynes’ “Carol,” Alejandro G. Inarritu’s “The Revenant,” Cary Joji Fukunaga’s “Beasts of No Nation,” Charlie Kaufman & Duke Johnson’s “Anomalisa,” Laszlo Nemes’ “Son of Saul,” Quentin Tarantino’s “The Hateful Eight,” and Denis Villenueve’s “Sicario.”

Vote for your favorites, as much as you’d like until Sunday morning when voting closes.  The results will be announced on this week’s episode of Power Hour.  This year, the staff has one save they can use on one film, one time this season.  It must be a uanimous decision.

Vote for your films below:

The Academy Idol competition has been a favorite of for nine years.  Past winners have included Paul Thomas Anderson’s “There Will Be Blood” (2007), Andrew Stanton’s “Wall-E” (2008), Quentin Tarantino’s “Inglourious Basterds” (2009), David Fincher’s “The Social Network” (2010), Steve McQueen’s “Shame” (2011), Kathryn Bigelow’s “Zero Dark Thirty” (2012), Spike Jonze’s “Her” (2013), and Damien Chazelle’s “Whiplash” (2014).