AAFCA Awards to Honor Quincy Jones and Jason Blum at 10th Anniversary Ceremony

For its upcoming 10th Anniversary awards ceremony, the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has announced it will honor industry legend Quincy Jones and renowned producer Jason Blum as two of its 2019 Special Achievement honorees.

Most recently, Blum was one of the producers behind Spike Lee’s award-winning latest, BlacKkKlansman,” while Jones was the subject of a Netflix documentary titled “Quincy” about his career released in 2018.

On Quincy Jones selection, AAFCA co-founder Shawn Edwards noted:

“Quincy Jones is a cultural icon.For nearly 70 years, he has helped shape pop culture as a music composer and producer as well as a film/TV composer and producer. His creative influence is unparalleled. He has molded the arts, film and music with a force that we may never witness again in our lifetime and given back all along the way.”

Regarding Blum, AAFCA Co-founder and CEO Gil Robertson said:

“Jason Blum is a visionary creatively and in business. Through Blumhouse, he has rebirthed the horror genre, favoring both horror and specialty film like BlacKkKlansman that inclusively reflect or make us think about the world today. I am thrilled that AAFCA is honoring Jason, the legendary Quincy Jones, jazz pioneer Bolden and the other great creatives, in front of and behind the camera, that continue to make our industry and our world great.”

These awards celebrate achievements in the film world and are part of the group’s annual event. AAFCA is the world’s largest group of Black film critics.

In addition, to Jones and Blum, director Aneesh Chaganty, whose film “Searching” became a critical and box-office success back in August, is the recipient of the AAFCA Breakthrough Film Award; while late jazz pioneer Buddy Bolden, is the posthumous recipient of the AAFCA Pioneer Award. Other honorees include Netflix’s Tengo Nagenda and HBO’s Kelly Edwards.

What do you think about this group of honorees? Please share your thoughts in the comments section!

The awards ceremony will be held on Feb. 6, 2019.

Check out our Oscar Predictions to see where your favorite films rank- All in THE CIRCUIT HUB

What do you think?

72 points

Written by Carlos Aguilar

Originally from Mexico City, Carlos Aguilar was chosen as one of 6 young film critics to partake in the first Roger Ebert Fellowship organized by, the Sundance Institute and Indiewire in 2014. Aguilar’s work has appeared in prestigious publications such as The Wrap, Indiewire, Vulture,, MovieMaker Magazine, Remezcla Filmmaker Magazine, Variety Latino, Slate, Bustle, Americas Quarterly, among others.

Besides his work in journalism, Aguilar regularly works as a screener for the Sundance Film Festival and a screenplay reader for Sundance’s Screenwriters Lab. Carlos Aguilar has also been on the jury at renowned festivals such the Palm Springs International Film Festival, the Gasparilla International Film Festival, the Louisiana International Film Festival, and the Los Angeles Indian Film Festival.

Aguilar currently co-hosts, One Week Only, a weekly podcast highlighting independent and international cinema. He also regularly participates in panel discussions about the importance of people of color in film criticism and his experience as a DACA recipient working in the film industry.

Circuit Q&A – DGA Snubs

Interview: Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman Share Their Experiences Writing the Music of ‘Mary Poppins Returns’