ACCA 1996

fargo_ver2Best Motion Picture
“The English Patient” – Saul Zaentz (producer) – RUNNER UP
“Fargo” – Ethan Coen (producer) – WINNER
“Jerry Maguire” – James L. Brooks, Cameron Crowe, Laurence Mark, Richard Sakai (producers)
“Secrets & Lies” – Simon Channing Williams (producer)
“Trainspotting” – Andrew Macdonald (producer)

Best Director
Danny Boyle – “Trainspotting”
Joel Coen – “Fargo” – WINNER
Cameron Crowe – “Jerry Maguire”
Milos Forman – “The People vs. Larry Flynt”
Mike Leigh – “Secrets & Lies”
Anthony Minghella – “The English Patient” – RUNNER UP

Best Actor
Tom Cruise – “Jerry Maguire”
Ralph Fiennes – “The English Patient” – RUNNER UP
Woody Harrelson – “The People vs. Larry Flynt”
William H. Macy – “Fargo” – WINNER
Geoffrey Rush – “Shine”

Best Actress
Brenda Blethlyn – “Secrets & Lies” – RUNNER UP
Diane Keaton – “Marvin’s Room”
Frances McDormand – “Fargo” – WINNER
Winona Ryder – “The Crucible”
Kristin Scott Thomas – “The English Patient”
Emily Watson – “Breaking the Waves”

Best Supporting Actor
Steve Buscemi – “Fargo” – WINNER
Robert Carlyle – “Trainspotting”
Cuba Gooding, Jr. – “Jerry Maguire”
Nathan Lane – “The Birdcage”
Edward Norton – “Primal Fear” – RUNNER UP

Best Supporting Actress
Joan Allen – “The Crucible”
Juliette Binoche – “The English Patient” – WINNER
Marianne Jean-Baptiste – “Secrets & Lies”
Courtney Love – “The People vs. Larry Flynt”
Kate Winslet – “Hamlet”
Renee Zellweger – “Jerry Maguire” – RUNNER UP

Best Original Screenplay
Fargo” – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen – WINNER
Jerry Maguire” – Cameron Crowe
The People vs. Larry Flynt” – Milos Forman
Secrets & Lies” – Mike Leigh
Scream” – Kevin Williamson – RUNNER UP

Best Adapted Screenplay
The Birdcage” – Francis Veber, Édouard Molinaro, Marcello Danon, Jean Poiret, Elaine May
The Crucible” – Arthur Miller
The English Patient” – Anthony Minghella – RUNNER UP
Hamlet” – Kenneth Branagh
Trainspotting” – John Hodge – WINNER

Best Art Direction
The Birdcage” – Bo Welch, Cheryl Carasik
The English Patient” – Stuart Craig, Stephenie McMillan – RUNNER UP
Evita” – Brian Morris, Philippe Turlure
Hamlet” – Tim Harvey – WINNER (*TIE*)
Romeo + Juliet” – Catherine Martin, Brigitte Broch – WINNER (*TIE*)

Best Cinematography
The English Patient” – John Seale – RUNNER UP
Fargo” – Roger Deakins – WINNER
Hamlet” – Alex Thomson
Romeo + Juliet” – Donald M. McAlpine
Trainspotting” – Brian Tufano

Best Costume Design
101 Dalmatians” – Rosemary Burrows, Anthony Powell – RUNNER UP
The English Patient” – Ann Roth
Evita” – Penny Rose
Hamlet” – Alexandra Byrne – WINNER
Romeo + Juliet” – Kym Barrett – RUNNER UP

Best Film Editing
The English Patient” – Walter Murch
Fargo” – Roderick Jaynes – WINNER
Independence Day” – David Brenner
Jerry Maguire” – Joe Hutshing
Mission: Impossible” – Paul Hirsch
Trainspotting” – Masahiro Hirakubo – RUNNER UP

Best Sound
“The English Patient”
“Independence Day” – WINNER
“Mission: Impossible”
“Twister” – RUNNER UP

Best Visual Effects
“Independence Day” – WINNER
“Mars Attacks!”
“Mission: Impossible”
“Star Trek: First Contact”
“Twister” – RUNNER UP

Best Original Score
The English Patient” – Gabriel Yared – RUNNER UP
Fargo” – Carter Burwell – WINNER
Hamlet” – Patrick Doyle
The Hunchback of Notre Dame” – Alan Menken
Shine” – David Hirschfelder

Best Foreign Language Film
The Eighth Day” (Belgium)
Kolya” (Czech Republic)
The Other Side of Sunday” (Norway)
Prisoner of the Mountains” (Russia)
Ridicule” (France) – WINNER

Best Cast Ensemble
The Crucible” – Daniel Day-Lewis; Winona Ryder; Joan Allen; Paul Scofield; Bruce Davison; Rob Campbell; Jeffrey Jones; Frances Conroy; Charlayne Woodard – RUNNER UP
Don’t Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood” – Marlon Wayans; Shawn Wayans; Tracey Cherelle Jones; Chris Spencer; Suli McCullough; Helen Martin; Lahmard J. Tate; Darrel Heath
Fargo” – William H. Macy; Frances McDormand; Steve Buscemi; Peter Stormare; Kristin Rudrüd; Harve Presnell – WINNER
Ghosts of Mississippi” – Alec Baldwin; Whoopi Goldberg; James Woods; Virginia Madsen; Craig T. Nelson; Lucas Black; William H. Macy; Susanna Thompson
Ransom” – Mel Gibson; Rene Russo; Delroy Lindo; Gary Sinise; Liev Schreiber; Lily Taylor; Barwley Nolte; Evan Handler; Donnie Wahlberg
Romeo + Juliet” – Leonardo DiCaprio; Claire Danes; John Leguizamo; Pete Postlethwaite; Harold Perrineau; Paul Sorvino; Diane Venora; Brian Dennehy; Vondie Curtis-Hall; Miriam Margolyes; Jamie Kennedy; Dash Mihok

Honorable Mentions
The Birdcage” – Mike Nichols
Breaking the Waves” – Lars von Trier
The Crucible” – Nicholas Hytner
Hamlet” – Kenneth Branagh
The Hunchback of Notre Dame” – Gary Trousdale, Kirk Wise
The People vs. Larry Flynt” – Milos Forman
Primal Fear” – Gregory Hoblit
Romeo + Juliet” – Baz Luhrmann
Scream” – Wes Craven
Sling Blade” – Billy Bob Thornton