Actor’s Fund 2017 Looking Ahead Award to Honor Cast of ‘Detroit’

LOS ANGELES, CA (November 21, 2017) — The Actors Fund announced today that the ensemble cast of Kathryn Bigelow’s latest film “Detroit” will be honored with the Looking Ahead Award for Community Service at the 2017 Looking Ahead Awards on Tuesday, December 5 at 6pm at Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. Tickets are currently on sale at

The award, honoring an ensemble cast who exemplifies giving back to the community, will be presented to a number of the film’s stars: Laz Alonso, Joseph David-Jones, Nathan Davis Jr.Austin Hebert, Malcolm David KelleyJacob LatimoreWill PoulterAlgee Smith, Leon Thomas III, Samira Wiley and Tyler James Williams.

The 2017 Looking Ahead Awards will also honor actresses Kellie Martin (The Looking Ahead Award For Education) and Charlotte Rae (The Shirley Temple Award); and, as previously announced, the youth cast of NBC’s “This Is Us” (The Looking Ahead Award for Social Awareness).

Hosted by Corbin Bleu, the fourth annual gala raises awareness and financial support for The Actors Fund’s Looking Ahead Program while shining the spotlight on performers who inspire the world by living the program’s five core values: education, community service, mentorship, social awareness and healthy parenting. The evening features exciting “blue carpet” arrivals, cocktail hour, gourmet dinner, live entertainment and the awards ceremony.

The full list of honorees is as follows:

Laz Alonso, Joseph David-Jones, Nathan Davis Jr., Austin Hebert, Malcolm David Kelley, Jacob LatimoreWill Poulter Algee Smith, Leon Thomas III, Samira Wiley and Tyler James Williams 

The Looking Ahead Award for Community Service
Honoring a former young performer (or cast) who exemplifies giving back to the community

Kellie Martin
The Looking Ahead Award for Education
Honoring a former young performer who has made education a priority in their life

Charlotte Rae
The Shirley Temple Award
Honoring an early pioneer for their legacy in paving the way for other young performers

Eris Baker, Parker Bates, Lonnie Chavis, Niles Fitch, Mackenzie Hancsicsak, Faithe Herman, Logan Shroyer and Hannah Zeile

“This Is Us”
The Elizabeth Taylor Award for Social Awareness
Honoring a current young performer (or cast) who is raising awareness about an important societal issue through a current role

The Looking Ahead Program was created in 2003 in partnership with SAG-AFTRA to work with youth between the ages of nine and 18, helping them develop the values, skills and confidence they need to make successful transitions to fulfilling adult lives. Now serving more than 400 youths, families and alumni, the program aims to create a nurturing environment where young performers get support through individual, family and education counseling, leadership development, community service and social events. Looking Ahead is guided by an Advisory Committee of professionals in youth development and youth-related entertainment, which is co-chaired by actor, director and producer Fred Savage and freelance casting director and former head of casting at Nickelodeon Sharon Lieblein.

The 2017 Looking Ahead Awards is generously sponsored by Disney Channel, Disney XD, Nickelodeon, SAG-AFTRA, The Osbrink Agency, Sextant Wines and Devotion Vodka.

What do you think?

AC Fan

Written by Karen M. Peterson

Karen Peterson is a writer from Southern California. When she is not at the ballpark cheering on her LA Angels, she can usually be found in a movie theater or in front of the television. Karen is obsessed with awards shows, and loves everything from the smallest indie film to the biggest of big budget spectacles. She is also unapologetically in love with Tom Cruise.

Singer, Actor, and Former Teen Idol David Cassidy Dead at 67

Jordan Peele, Emily V. Gordon, and Others React to Spirit Award Nominations