in , ,

Alliance of Women Film Journalists 2019 Nominees Announced: ‘The Irishman’, ‘Marriage Story’, and ‘Once Upon A Time’ Lead

marriage story MarriageStorySubway rgb

Read the press release announcing the nominees for the Alliance of Women Film Journalists nominations.

These awards are presented to women and/or men without gender consideration.

Best Film

  • The Irishman
  • Jojo Rabbit
  • Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood
  • Marriage Story
  • Parasite.

Best Director 

  • Noah Baumback, Marriage Story
  • Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
  • Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
  • Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood
  • Celine Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Screenplay, Original 

  • The Farewell, Lulu Wang
  • Knives Out, Rian Johnson
  • Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
  • Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
  • Parasite, Bong Joon-ho

Best Screenplay, Adapted 

  • A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, Marielle Heller
  • Hustlers, Lorene Scafaria
  • Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
  • The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
  • Little Women, Greta Gerwig

Best Documentary (title and director’s name)

  • Apollo 11
  • For Sama
  • Honeyland
  • Maiden
  • One Child Nation

Best Animated Film (title and director’s name)

  • Abominable
  • Frozen 2
  • I Lost My Body
  • Klaus
  • Toy Story 4

Best Actress 

  • Awkwafina, The Farewell
  • Soirse Ronan, Little Women
  • Scarlett Johsnsson, Marriage Story
  • Lupita Nyong’o, Us
  • Renee Zellwegger, Judy

Best Actress in a Supporting Role 

  • Annette Bening, The Report
  • Laura Dern, Marriage Story
  • Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
  • Florence Pugh, Little Women
  • Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Best Actor 

  • Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
  • Adam Driver, Marriage Story
  • Eddie Murphy, Dolemite is My Name
  • Joachin Phoenix, Joker
  • Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse
  • Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
  • Al Pacino, The Irishman
  • Joe Pesci, The Irishman
  • Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

  • The Irishman, Ellen Lewis
  • Little Women, Kathy Driscoll and Francine Maisler
  • Marriage Story, Douglas Maisel and Francine Maisler
  •  Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood, Victoria Thomas
  • Parasite (casting director not listed in credits)

Best Cinematography 

  • 1917, Roger Deakins
  • A Hidden Life, Jorg Widmer
  • The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke
  • Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood, Robert Richardson
  • Portrait of a Lady on Fire. Claire Mathon

Best Editing

  • 1917, Lee Smith
  • Ford v Ferrari, Andrew Buckland et al
  • The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
  • Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood, Fred Raskin
  • Parasite, Jimmo Yang

Best Non-English-Language Film 

  • Atlantics
  • Pain and Glory
  • Parasite
  • Portrait of a Lady On Fire

These awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director 

  • Greta Gerwig, Little Women
  • Marielle Heller, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
  • Celine Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
  • Lulu Wang, The Farewell
  • Olivia Wilde, Book Smart

Best Woman Screenwriter 

  • Greta Gerwig, Little Women
  • Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers
  • Celine Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
  • Lulu Wang, The Farewell
  • Olivia Wilde, Book Smart

Best Animated Female 

  • Anna, Kristen Bell in Frozen 2
  • Bo Peep, Annie Potts in Toy Story 4
  • Elsa, Idina Menzel in Frozen 2
  • Yi, Chloe Bennet in Abominable

Best Woman’s Breakthrough Performance 

  • Awkwafina, The Farewell
  • Florence Pugh, Midsommar plus Little Women and Fighting With the Family
  • Jodie Turner-Smith, Queen & Slim

Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry 

  • Ava DuVernay for creating ARRAY and championing women in film.
  • Claire Mathon for Cinematography: Portrait of a Lady on Fire, Atlantiques
  • Anna Serner (Swedish Film Inst) for tireless work on 50/50 by 2020 initiative.



Grand Dame Award for defying agism.

  • Helen Mirren, The Good Lie
  • Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
  • Zhao Shuzhen. The Farewell

Most Egregious Lovers’ Age Difference Award (actors
names and film title)

  • Dolemite Is My Name: Eddie Murphy (58) and Da’Vine Joy Randolph (33)  25
  • Lucy In The Sky: Jon Hamm (48) and Zazie Beetz (28) 20
  • The Public: Emilio Estevez (57) and Taylor Schilling (35) 22

She Deserves A New Agent Award

  • Anne Hathaway, The Hustler and Serenity
  • Diane Keaton and ensemble, Poms
  • Kristen Stewart, Charlies Angels and Seberg

Most Daring Performance Award

  • Aisling Franciosi, The Nightingale
  • Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
  • Lupita Nyong’o, Us
  • Florence Pugh, Midsommar
  • Renee Zellwegger, Judy

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award 

  • Charlie’s Angels
  • Dumbo
  • The Lion King
  • Men In Black: International
  • Dark Phoenix

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award (name, film title or egregious behavior or both)

  • HFPA for excluding women nominees in major Golden Globe categories.
  • Louis CK come back tour
  • Beach Bums, the movie
  • Harvey Weinstein, more of the same

The winners of the AWFJ 2019 EDA Awards will be announced on January 10, 2020. Stay tuned!

ABOUT THE ALLIANCE OF WOMEN FILM JOURNALISTS: AWFJ, a not-for-profit corporation, is an international association of professional female movie critics, reporters and feature writers working in print, broadcast and online media, dedicated to raising the volume on women’s voices in the film community by broadening opportunities for women who write about film and supporting films by and about women – both in front of and behind the cameras – through intra-group promotional activities, outreach programs and by presenting EDA awards in recognition of outstanding accomplishments (the best and worst) by and about women in the movies. More information about AWFJ, including the membership list, can be accessed at or sending inquiries to

ABOUT THE EDA AWARDS:  The AWFJ presents EDA Awards to honor women’s achievements in front of and behind the cameras.  In addition to the annual end of the year awards, AWFJ presents EDA Awards for Best Female-Directed Films at select film festivals,including IDFA, Whistler Film Festival, DOXA. Edinburgh Film Festival. St. Louis International Film Festival and others. The EDAs are named in honor of AWFJ founder Jennifer Merin’s mother, Eda Reiss Merin, a stage, film and screen actress whose career spanned more than 60 years. A dedicated foot soldier in the industry, Eda was one of the founders of AFTRA and a long standing member of AMPAS.

What do you think?

393 points
Upvote Downvote
Binge Watcher

Written by Clayton Davis

Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick off to the awards season, the Critics Choice Awards. He also founded the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association, the first Latino-based critics’ organization in the United States. He’s also an active member of the African-American Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards, and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets that include The New York Times,, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, FOX 5, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film, and the Hollywood Reporter.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Come Cry with Me over the Marriage Story Trailers 1 1200x819

Adam Driver To Receive Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actor At Palm Springs International Film Festival Film Awards Gala


‘Parasite’ and ‘Marriage Story’ Strike Big with Utah Film Critics Association