‘Apollo 11’ and ‘American Factory’ Lead 2020 Cinema Eye Honors Awards


The Cinema Eye Honors (CEH) awarded its winners in feature and short-length films and series with an emphasis on nonfiction work that is designed for public distribution, whether primarily theatrical, festival, broadcast or streaming.

Netflix’s “American Factory” took the awards for Outstanding Nonfiction Feature and Outstanding Direction for veteran filmmakers Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert. NEON’s “Apollo 11” took two big awards, for Outstanding Editing for director/editor Todd Douglas Miller and Original Score for composer Matt Morton.

Outstanding Achievement in Production concluded in a tie between “For Sama” and “The Cave,” two blistering chronicles of the Syrian war. Sundance acclaimed breakout documentary “Honeyland” won for Outstanding Cinematography.

“Apollo 11”

A full list of Cinema Eye winners follows.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
American Factory
Directed by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Produced by Steve Bognar, Julia Reichert, Jeff Reichert and Julie Parker Benello

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
American Factory

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Todd Douglas Miller
Apollo 11

Outstanding Achievement in Production
Waad Al-Kateab
For Sama
Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær
The Cave

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
Matt Morton
Apollo 11

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation
Patrick Cederberg, Matthew Hornick and Ash Thorp
The Great Hack

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film
The Disappearance of My Mother
Directed by Beniamino Barrese

Audience Choice Prize
The Biggest Little Farm
Directed by John Chester

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Film for Broadcast
Leaving Neverland
Directed by Dan Reed

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Film for Broadcast
Tricky Dick
Directed by Mary Robertson

Outstanding Achievement in Editing in a Nonfiction Film or Series for Broadcast
David Tillman
Apollo: Missions to the Moon
National Geographic

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in a Nonfiction Film or Series for Broadcast
Mark Ritchie, Julian Klincewicz, Dikayl Rimmasch and Irie Calkins

Spotlight Award
Directed by Shengze Zhu

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
Ghosts of Sugar Land
Directed by Bassam Tariq

Heterodox Award
The Souvenir
Directed by Joanna Hogg

Legacy Award
Directed and Produced by Godfrey Reggio
Cinematography Ron Fricke
Editing Ron Fricke and Alton Walpole
Original Score Philip Glass

What do you think of the Cinema Eye Honors winners? Share your thoughts in the comments below!