Art Directors Guild Award Winners: ‘Black Panther,’ ‘Crazy Rich Asians,’ and ‘The Favourite’ Get Top Honors


The Art Directors Guild Awards were handed out on Saturday night where Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Favourite,” Ryan Coogler’s “Black Panther,” and Jon M. Chu’s “Crazy Rich Asians” took home the top honors.

Fiona Crombie, the production designer on Fox Searchlight’s “The Favourite,” won in the Period category.  Four out of the last seven winners of this award have gone to win the Academy Award: “Hugo” from Martin Scorsese, “The Great Gatsby” from Baz Luhrmann, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” from Wes Anderson, and “The Shape of Water” from Guillermo del Toro. Marvel Studios’ “Black Panther” walked away with Fantasy while Warner Bros.’ “Crazy Rich Asians” took the Contemporary category.

On the television side, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” from Amazon, “GLOW” from Netflix, and “The Handmaid’s Tale” from Hulu walked away with statues.

4-time Oscar nominee Jeannine Oppewall (“L.A. Confidential”) and Ed Verreaux (“Jurassic World”) received the Lifetime Achievement awards from the guild.

The nominees for Best Production Design at the Oscar are “Black Panther,” “The Favourite,” “First Man,” “Mary Poppins Returns,” and “Roma.”  Coogler’s film won the Critics Choice award for Production Design in January.  Next major award that will likely solidify this category is the BAFTA Awards.

The complete winners are listed below:

Check out the full list of precursor winners from the 2018-2019 awards season HERE.


Period Film
“The Favourite” (Fiona Crombie)

Fantasy Film
“Black Panther” (Hannah Beachler)

Contemporary Film
“Crazy Rich Asians” (Nelson Coates)

Animated Film
“Isle of Dogs” (Adam Stockhausen, Paul Harrod)


One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” – “Simone,” “We’re Going to the Catskills!” (Bill Groom)

One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series
“The Handmaid’s Tale” – “June,” “Unwomen” (Mark White, Elisabeth Williams)

Television Movie or Miniseries
“The Alienist” – “The Boy on the Bridge” (Mara LePere-Schloop)

Half-Hour Single-Camera Series
“Glow” – “Viking Funeral,” “Perfects are People, Too,” “Rosalie” (Todd Fjelsted)

Multi-Camera Series
“Sesame Street” – “Book Worming,” “The Count’s Counting Error,” “Street Food” (David Gallo)

Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial (TIE)
Apple – “Welcome Home” (Christopher Glass)

Variety, Reality or Event Special
“The Oscars: 90th Annual Academy Awards” (Derek McLane)

Check out the Oscar Predictions and see where your favorite films rank – All in THE CIRCUIT HUB.