Awards Circuit Announces 1992 ACCA Nominees – ‘Unforgiven’ Leads with 12, Voting Now Open!


NEW YORK (August 21, 2017) – announced its nominations for the 1992 Awards Circuit Community Awards.  The awards are voted on by the Awards Circuit’s community of over 575,000 readers from all over the world.

Clint Eastwood’s western “Unforgiven” led the nominations with 12 in total including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actor for Eastwood, and Best Supporting Actor for Gene Hackman.

Tim Burton’s “Batman Returns,” Francis Ford Coppola’s “Bram Stoker’s Dracula,” and James Ivory’s “Howard’s End” tied for the second most, with 7 total nominations each.  Coincidentally, none of the films received Best Picture nominations.

Ron Clements and John Musker’s “Aladdin,” Rob Reiner’s “A Few Good Men,” and Quentin Tarantino’s “Reservoir Dogs” came in third with six nominations each, all receiving Best Picture nominations.

Spike Lee’s “Malcolm X” was nominated for Best Picture honors with an impressive 5 nomination tally.

Voting for the winners will take place from Monday, Aug. 21 and end on Sunday, Aug. 27.  Voting is open at the bottom of the page!

Click here to see the list of past winners and nominees of ACCA.

The full list of 1992 ACCA nominees is below.

Best Motion Picture

  • Aladdin” (Walt Disney Pictures) – Ron Clements, John Musker
  • A Few Good Men” (Columbia Pictures) – David Brown, Rob Reiner, Andrew Scheinman
  • Malcolm X” (Warner Bros.) – Spike Lee, Ahmed Murad, Marvin Worth
  • Reservoir Dogs” (Miramax Films) – Lawrence Bender
  • Unforgiven” (Warner Bros.) – Clint Eastwood

Best Director

  • Robert Altman, “The Player”
  • Clint Eastwood, “Unforgiven”
  • Neil Jordan, “The Crying Game”
  • Spike Lee, “Malcolm X”
  • Rob Reiner, “A Few Good Men”
  • Quentin Tarantino, “Reservoir Dogs”

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Robert Downey, Jr., “Chaplin”
  • Clint Eastwood, “Unforgiven”
  • Jack Lemmon, “Glengarry Glen Ross”
  • Al Pacino, “Scent of a Woman”
  • Denzel Washington, “Malcolm X”

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Catherine Deneuve, “Indochine”
  • Geena Davis, “A League of their Own”
  • Whoopi Goldberg, “Sister Act”
  • Sharon Stone, “Basic Instinct”
  • Meryl Streep, “Death Becomes Her”
  • Emma Thompson, “Howard’s End”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Jaye Davidson, “The Crying Game”
  • Gene Hackman, “Unforgiven”
  • Jack Nicholson, “A Few Good Men”
  • Al Pacino, “Glengarry Glen Ross”
  • Robin Williams, “Aladdin”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Helena Bonham Carter, “Howard’s End”
  • Judy Davis, “Husbands and Wives”
  • Michelle Pfeiffer, “Batman Returns”
  • Vanessa Redgrave, “Howard’s End”
  • Miranda Richardson, “The Crying Game”
  • Marisa Tomei, “My Cousin Vinny”

Best Original Screenplay

  • Aladdin” – Ron Clements, John Musker, Ted Elliott, Terry Rosario, Bruny Mattinson, Roger Allers, Daan Jippes, Kevin Harkey, Sue Nichols, Francis Glebas, Darrell Rooney, Larry Leker, James Fujii, Kirk Hanson, Kevin Lima, Rebecca Rees, David S. Smith, Chris Sanders, Brian Pimental, Patrick A. Ventura
  • The Crying Game” – Neil Jordan
  • My Cousin Vinny” – Dale Launer
  • Reservoir Dogs” – Quentin Tarantino
  • Unforgiven” – David Webb Peoples

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • A Few Good Men” – Aaron Sorkin
  • Glengarry Glen Ross” – David Mamet
  • Howard’s End” – Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
  • Malcolm X” – Arnold Perl, Spike Lee
  • The Player” – Michael Tolkin

Best Cast Ensemble

  • A Few Good Men” – Tom Cruise, Jack Nicholson, Demi Moore, Kevin Bacon, Kiefer Sutherland, Kevin Pollak, James Marshall, J.T. Walsh, Christopher Guest, J.A. Preston, Wolfgang Bodison, Matt Craven, Xander Berkeley, Noah Wyle, Cuba Gooding, Jr.
  • Glengarry Glen Ross” – Al Pacino, Jack Lemmon, Alec Baldwin, Alan Arkin, Ed Harris, Kevin Spacey, Jonathan Pryce, Bruce Altman
  • A League of their Own” – Geena Davis, Tom Hanks, Lori Petty, Madonna, Rosie O’Donnell, Megan Cavanagh, Tracy Reiner, Bitty Schram, Ann Cusack, Anne Ramsay, Freddie Simpson, Renee Coleman, Robin Knight, Marbleann Wilkenson, Kelli Simpkins, Neezer Tarleton, Connie Pounds-Taylor, Kathleen Marshall, Sharon Szmidt
  • Reservoir Dogs” – Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Chris Penn, Steve Buscemi, Lawrence Tierney, Edward Bunker, Quentin Tarantino, Randy Brooks, Kirk Baltz, Steven Wright
  • Unforgiven” – Clint Eastwood, Gene Hackman, Morgan Freeman, Richard Harris, Jaimz Woolvett, Saul Rubinek, Frances Fisher, Anna Levine

Best Production Design

  • Batman Returns” – Bo Welch, Cheryl Carasik
  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – Thomas E. Sanders, Garrett Lewis
  • Chaplin” – Stuart Craig
  • Howard’s End” – Luciana Arrighi, Ian Whittaker
  • Unforgiven” – Henry Bumstead, Janice Blackie-Goodine

Best Cinematography

  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – Michael Ballhaus
  • Howard’s End” – Tony Pierce-Roberts
  • The Last of the Mohicans” – Dante Spinotti
  • Reservoir Dogs” – Andrezej Sekula
  • A River Runs Through It” – Philippe Rousselot
  • Unforgiven” – Jack N. Green

Best Costume Design

  • Batman Returns” – Bob Ringwood, Mary E. Vogt
  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – Eiko Ishioka
  • Howard’s End” – Jenny Beavan, John Bright
  • Malcolm X” – Ruth E. Carter
  • Unforgiven” – Glenn Wright, Valerie O’Brien, Joanne Hansen, Carla Hetland

Best Film Editing

  • Basic Instinct” – Frank J. Urioste
  • The Crying Game” – Kant Pan
  • A Few Good Men” – Robert Leighton, Steven Nevius
  • Reservoir Dogs” – Sally Menke
  • Unforgiven” – Joel Cox

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Batman Returns” – Ve Neill, Ronnie Specter, Stan Winston
  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – Greg Cannom, Michele Burke, Matthew W. Mungle
  • Chaplin” – Wally Schneiderman, Audrey Futterman-Stern
  • Death Becomes Her” – Kevin Haney, Shirley Crawford, Nadege Schoenfeld, Dick Smith
  • The Last of the Mohicans” – Vincent J. Guastini, Christopher Johnson, Caroline Clements

Best Sound

  • Aladdin” – Ron Bartlett, Clayton Collins, Teresa Eckton, Donald Flick, David J. Hudson
  • Batman Returns” – Richard L. Anderson, Jeffrey J. Haboush, Steve Maslow
  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – Aaron Rochin, Dennis S. Sands, Leslie Shatz, Marian Wallace
  • The Last of the Mohicans” – Doug Hemphill, Chris Jenkins, Paul Massey, Mark Smith
  • Unforgiven” – Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander, Rob Young

Best Visual Effects

  • Aladdin” – Barry Cook, Jeff Dutton, Don Paul
  • Alien 3” – Rick Fichter, Ellen Somers
  • Batman Returns” – Craig Barron, John Bruno, Michael Fink, Michael Pangrazio, Robert Skotak
  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – Gary Gutierrez, Leslie Huntley, Gene Warren Jr.
  • Death Becomes Her” – Ken Ralston, Doug Chiang, Douglas Smythe, Tom Woodruff, Jr.

Best Original Score

  • Aladdin” – Alan Menken
  • Batman Returns” – Danny Elfman
  • A Few Good Men” – Marc Shaiman
  • A River Runs Through It” – Mark Isham
  • Unforgiven” – Lennie Niehaus

Nomination Tally

“Unforgiven” – 12
“Batman Returns” – 7
“Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – 7
“Howard’s End” – 8
“Aladdin” – 6
“A Few Good Men” – 6
“Reservoir Dogs” – 6
“The Crying Game” – 5
“Malcolm X” – 5
“Glengarry Glen Ross” – 4
“Chaplin” – 3
“Death Becomes Her” – 3
“The Last of the Mohicans” – 3
“Basic Instinct” – 2
“A League of their Own” – 2
“My Cousin Vinny” – 2
“The Player” – 2
“A River Runs Through It” – 2
“Alien 3” – 1
“Husbands and Wives” – 1
“Indochine” – 1
“Scent of a Woman” – 1
“Sister Act” – 1