NEW YORK (Sept. 5, 2017) – Awards Circuit announced its winners for the 1992 Awards Circuit Community Awards. The awards are voted on by Awards Circuit’s community of readers from all over the world.

The Disney animated classic “Aladdin” is the big winner, taking home Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor, Best Sound, and Best Score for Alan Menken. With 4 prizes, it is only the second animated film to take home the Best Picture prize, following “Toy Story” in 1995. Robin Williams becomes ACCAs first acting winner for a vocal performance.

Oscar Best Picture winner “Unforgiven” also had a strong showing. Clint Eastwood takes home director for the 1st time with ACCA on his 3rd nomination. The film also took home prizes in Editing and Cinematography. It also is the runner up in several categories, including Best Picture, Original Screenplay, Supporting Actor, and Score.

There are several actors picking up their first ACCAs as well. ACCA voters gave Denzel Washington the prize for Best Actor for “Malcolm X.” This is Washington’s first in 4 nominations. Emma Thompson wins her first for acting in 5 nominations. She’s a previous winner for writing “Sense and Sensibility.” Marisa Tomei also takes home her first prize for “My Cousin Vinny.” This was her 3rd nomination.

Last, two of ACCAs favorite writers took home prizes for their work. Quentin Tarantino receives his 4th ACCA win for original screenplay. He has received 9 nominations in the screenplay category, including the runner-up for Best of the Decade in the 2000s. He also finished as runner-up for director (his 2nd). Aaron Sorkin also emerged victorious for adapting “A Few Good Men” based on the play of the same name. This is Sorkin’s 5th ACCA award. He has won every time he has been nominated.

Click here to see the list of past winners and nominees of ACCA.

Best Picture – “Aladdin”
RUNNER UP: “Unforgiven”

Best Achievement in Directing – Clint Eastwood, “Unforgiven”
RUNNER UP: Quentin Tarantino, “Reservoir Dogs”

Best Actor in a Leading Role – Denzel Washington, “Malcolm X”
RUNNER UP: Robert Downey, Jr., “Chaplin”

Best Actress in a Leading Role – Emma Thompson, “Howard’s End”
RUNNER UP: Sharon Stone, “Basic Instinct”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Robin Williams, “Aladdin”
RUNNER UP: Gene Hackman, “Unforgiven”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Marisa Tomei, “My Cousin Vinny”
RUNNER UP: Michelle Pfeiffer, “Batman Returns”

Best Original Screenplay – Quentin Tarantino, “Reservoir Dogs”
RUNNER UP: “Unforgiven”

Best Adapted Screenplay – Aaron Sorkin, “A Few Good Men”
RUNNER UP: David Mamet, “Glengarry Glen Ross”

Best Performance by a Cast Ensemble – “Glengarry Glen Ross”
RUNNER UP: “Reservoir Dogs”

Best Achievement in Production Design – “Bram Stoker’s Dracula”
RUNNER UP: “Batman Returns”

Best Achievement in Cinematography – Jack N. Green, “Unforgiven”
RUNNER UP: Philippe Rousellot, “A River Runs Through It”

Best Achievement in Costume Design – “Bram Stoker’s Dracula”
RUNNER UP: “Batman Returns”

Best Achievement in Film Editing – “Unforgiven”
RUNNER UP: “Reservoir Dogs”

Best Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling – “Bram Stoker’s Dracula”
RUNNER UP: “Batman Returns”

Best Achievement in Sound – “Aladdin”
RUNNER UP: “Unforgiven”

Best Achievement in Visual Effects – “Death Becomes Her”
RUNNER UP: *TIE* “Aladdin” and “Batman Returns”

Best Original Score – Alan Menken, “Aladdin”
RUNNER UP: Danny Elfman, “Batman Returns”


The Awards Circuit has been the premier entertainment and awards site since May 2008. It is owned and operated by Editor-in-Chief Clayton Davis. AC also staffs an eclectic group of writers, all from different walks of life, and all from different areas of the world.

Awards Circuit is committed to delivering unbiased news and awards coverage to both industry professionals and dedicated fans of film, television, music and theatre. Our diverse team of writers provide in-depth analysis of both American and international entertainment.


Clayton Davis is the esteemed Editor and Owner of Born in Bronx, NY to a Puerto Rican mother and Black father, he’s been criticizing film and television for over a decade. Clayton is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association where he votes and attends the kick-off to the awards season, the Critics’ Choice Awards. He’s also an active member of New York Film Critics Online, International Press Academy, Black Reel Awards and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. Clayton has been quoted and appeared in various outlets, including The New York, Variety, Deadline, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg Television, AOL, Huffington Post, Bloomberg Radio, The Wrap, Slash Film and The Hollywood Reporter.

# # #


Twitter: @AwardsCircuit




Hashtags: #AwardsCircuit, #ACCA, #ACCAFYC

# # #

Media Contact:

All Awards Circuit media inquiries may be directed to Clayton Davis at [email protected].

Films with Multiple Wins

  • “Aladdin” – 4
  • “Unforgiven” – 3
  • “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” – 3