in , ,

Berlin Film Festival Announces Competition Jury

kenneth lonergan oscar win manchester by the sea
Kenneth Lonergan accepts the award for best original screenplay for "Manchester by the Sea" at the Oscars on Sunday, Feb. 26, 2017, at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. (Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP)

Last week, Berlin Film Festival announced its full line-up for the 2020 edition of the festival, which included Disney Pixar’s “Onward.”

Today, as per The Hollywood Reporter, the festival unveiled the six men and women that would be joining Academy Award winner Jeremy Irons (“Reversal of Fortune”), who himself was announced last month as Jury President.

Perhaps the most notable is Academy Award winning screenwriter Kenneth Lonergan (“Manchester by the Sea”). Lonergan directed Casey Affleck to his first Best Actor Oscar, as well as penning the script for the British-American miniseries “Howard’s End” which released in 2017. Lonergan is a much respected and prestigious playwright, who’s work includes “Lobby Hero” and “The Waverly Gallery.”

Academy Award nominee Bérénice Bejo joins the jury, who shot to fame in 2011 for her performance in “The Artist.” The French actress has since won the Best Actress award at Cannes for her performance in Asghar Farhadi’s drama “The Past.” She is married to director Michel Hazanavicius who made “The Artist,” and the two have continued to collaborate frequently in the last few years.

Brazilian director Kleber Mendonça Filho has had a lot of success in recent years with two of his films, “Aquarius” and “Bacurau,” with the latter winning the Jury prize at last year’s Cannes Film Festival. He joins female director Annemarie Jacir, who won the Best Asian Film award at the 63rd edition of the Berlin Film Festival for “When I Saw You”, as well as being selected as the Palestinian entry at the 85th Academy Awards for Best Foreign Language Film.

The last two filmmakers to join the jury are Italian actor Luca Marinelli (“Martin Eden”) and German producer Bettina Brokemper (“Melancholia”). Marinelli has won a lot of International awards as an actor, including the Volpi Cup at the Venice Film Festival last year as Best Actor in “Martin Eden.” Brokemper produced “Honey” in 2010, which won the Golden Bear at the Berlin Festival that year.

The Berlin Film Festival kicks off Feb. 20 and will run through to March 1, 2020.

What are your thoughts on the jury for the Berlin Film Festival this year? Let us know in the comments below!

What do you think?

268 points
Upvote Downvote
AC Fan

Written by Bradley Weir

Recently graduated from the UK with a degree in film. Passionate about all things movies, especially the awards season!


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


81ABDEBA C76D 4C96 B3C5 5AAE3FD975D5

Disney Releasing a ‘Hamilton’ Movie Starring the Original Cast

thewayback benaffleck courtside

WATCH: Second Trailer Released For ‘The Way Back,’ Starring Ben Affleck