As part of its celebration of the best screenwriting of 2018, Final Draft, the company behind the widely used software, will honor diverse talent at its upcoming awards ceremony.

Boots Riley, the mind that brought us “Sorry to Bother You,” will receive the New Voice Award for Film for his visionary debut. Meanwhile, Latinx trailblazer Tanya Saracho will be presented with the New Voice Award for Television. Her critically acclaimed STARZ’s series “Vida” is a bastion for representation on the small screen.

The 14th annual Final Draft Awards will be hosted on the Paramount lot, and will also salute Callie Khouri, who won the Academy Award for the groundbreaking “Thelma & Louise” script. Khouri will be honored with the Hall of Fame Award. Past recipients include Paul Schrader, Aaron Sorkin, Oliver Stone, and Sydney Pollack.

“Callie Khouri has left an indelible mark on both film and television with her writing,” said Final Draft president Scott McMenamin. “Her unique voice and dedication to making our industry a better environment for all writers make her the perfect candidate for this award. We are also excited to be honoring first-time writer-director and undeniable multi-hyphenate talent Boots Riley for his thought-provoking film, Sorry to Bother You, that seamlessly blends comedy and social commentary, and creator/executive producer Tanya Saracho, who is breaking through stereotypes and expanding our understanding of the Latinx community with her first series, Vida.”

The Sklar Brothers, the comedy duo comprised of Sklar and Jason Sklar, will host the event in Los Angeles. The pair will also be in charge of revealing the winner of Final Draft’s 2018 Big Break Screenwriting Contest, aimed at supporting new talents.

What do you think about the chosen winners? Please share your thoughts in the comments section!

The ceremony will take place on January 29, 2019.

Check out our Oscar Predictions to see where your favorite films rank- All in THE CIRCUIT HUB